16 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Wallace @ Meow, Wellington - 11/06/17

24 Jul 2017 // A review by Shade

With a much deprived passion for a live music experience and pushed on by a resemblance of the gigs poster to a singer of the same genre I was at Meow on Sunday night for Wallace.

Unaware of the company I'd share the night with, equally anticipating hip hop heads or those on the jazz fest circuit  (it was mainly the latter), contemplating my week if I had not gone along is an existence I know I would have been poorer for. Everything delivered in this one hour set. A quality production with a guy on keyboard/computer and Wallace on vocals.

I increasingly solely listen to kiwi artists with that music embodying so many musical strands that I savour. The artists are confident and expressive with a distinct, unique NZ character and Wallace is in that company.

To a venue that was slightly roomy with a less than full house, her set was one of simple enjoyment. My experience was a fun time, and can you really wish for more? Clive James referenced Amy Winehouse's talent as life affirming and this set had that in showcasing the joy of music and a zest that had me buzzing for more. The was an instant familiarity to her sound which enabled a chance to cherish the moment and absorb what were, many, brilliant tracks.

It's awesome that such music has its genesis here.  I'm looking forward to an album and when she tours again. And the next time I arrive to her show I will again ponder the make up of the audience but I can be sure that they will all have a good time.

https://wallacegollan.bandcamp.com/

Reviewed by Paul Harvey

 

Other Reviews By Shade

Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Aio
27 Jul 2018 // by Shade
Aio - to be at Peace. Aio is what we strive for in our own minds, Aio is what nature is calling for and Aio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem