17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Wallace @ Meow, Wellington - 11/06/17

24 Jul 2017 // A review by Shade

With a much deprived passion for a live music experience and pushed on by a resemblance of the gigs poster to a singer of the same genre I was at Meow on Sunday night for Wallace.

Unaware of the company I'd share the night with, equally anticipating hip hop heads or those on the jazz fest circuit  (it was mainly the latter), contemplating my week if I had not gone along is an existence I know I would have been poorer for. Everything delivered in this one hour set. A quality production with a guy on keyboard/computer and Wallace on vocals.

I increasingly solely listen to kiwi artists with that music embodying so many musical strands that I savour. The artists are confident and expressive with a distinct, unique NZ character and Wallace is in that company.

To a venue that was slightly roomy with a less than full house, her set was one of simple enjoyment. My experience was a fun time, and can you really wish for more? Clive James referenced Amy Winehouse's talent as life affirming and this set had that in showcasing the joy of music and a zest that had me buzzing for more. The was an instant familiarity to her sound which enabled a chance to cherish the moment and absorb what were, many, brilliant tracks.

It's awesome that such music has its genesis here.  I'm looking forward to an album and when she tours again. And the next time I arrive to her show I will again ponder the make up of the audience but I can be sure that they will all have a good time.

https://wallacegollan.bandcamp.com/

Reviewed by Paul Harvey

 

Other Reviews By Shade

Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018
14 Jun 2018 // by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: 'U Say'
17 Sep 2017 // by Shade
When we think of Kiwi Hard Rock bands that have shaped our musical landscape over the past 3 decades, survived devastating real life storms, re-united us with graphic memories of the same shaky ground we’ve all stood on before, and been there since the dawn of 1980’s Kiwi Hard Rock… one name does not escape. Knightshade.
Read More...
Cybiont Reviews
29 Aug 2010 // by Shade
Angels & Demons2010Musical Bricolage as Metaphor“You see things; and you say, 'Why?' But I dream things that never were; and I say, 'Why not?
Read More...
Eqwanox @ The Royal, PN - 12 June 2010
28 Jun 2010 // by Shade
I had the absolute pleasure of being invited along to see Eqwanox perform live at The Royal in Palmerston North on 12 June 2010, and I was more than impressed with the Waikato boys tight and epic performance. Not only were their songs inspirational, with lyrics that many of us could relate to, but what I saw that night was so compelling and memorable, I find myself wanting to tell the world about them.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly Album Review
08 Jun 2009 // by Shade
Mercury Crowe are a straight-ahead rock band. They are straight ahead, though, not in that their songs lack inventiveness or freshness, but in the sense that they clearly just want to write good tunes.
Read More...
CD Single – These Four Walls
23 Sep 2008 // by Shade
It’s hard to review a CD single as there are only a couple of songs to make your judgement on. With an album you have the luxury to get a real sense of the band and the direction that want to take you on.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem