31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17

29 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill. 

I must admit I have always found that there is something missing with a band that only does instrumental songs (I know, I know a singer!) There is no denying the talent in this band, think the Deftones without Chino. A vocalist trying to fit in would have his work cut out and it would be difficult to find one who could add to what is already a great soundscape but if they want to, I think these guys should try to find their Chino. If they do then they could really blow our minds.

Coridian take the stage and I had heard good things about these guys so expectations were high. Immediately the energy levels in the room hit the ceiling and vocalist Dity has a stage presence right from the first note. Apparently, he was recovering from man-flu but no one noticed and this was a polished performance. Musically there are some obvious influences but unlike many bands, Coridian manage to create their own sound and vibe. Defo a band to put on your "must see live" list.

As this was Curlys Jewels first Auckland gig they handed headline duties over to local boys Armed in Advance and entered the stage all smiles. It is clear they are here to enjoy themselves and the crowd responds in kind. Janelle is a great singer who can engage the crowd from a first glance, smile, and her passion for the music is clear. Having heard their EP a few weeks back it was great to see the songs are enhanced when played live. The banter between songs is never cheesy or cliched and the connection between the band members is infectious and pulls you in. What I really like is the music is just left field enough to keep things interesting and keep the audience engaged. This isn't "pub rock" there is a depth to the music and if Curlys Jewels keep pushing the boundaries they will continue to stand out. 

I saw Armed in Advance a few months back and I am already sold on this band as JP is a riff monster. If Phil from Shihad had a son with Brody Dalle (Josh Homme would be pissed off) then that child would be JP. The sound these guys create is huge and JP is backed by one of the best rhythm sections in NZ right now. Solid, tight and full of energy. The set was similar to the last time I saw them but I am pleased to say the new tracks I heard are a step forward and still full of energy and monstrous riffs.

The whole night seemed to be over really quickly (unlike a Foo Fighters gig) which is always a good sign. The smoke machine took a well-earned breather and we all exited to the sweet vibes of K Rd on a Saturday night. Ears ringing and a sly smile knowing that NZ music is alive and well. Just like a great night out watching live music should be.
 

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are a rock band from Wellington NZ. Their sound has been described as grungy yet powerfully emotive, pinned together with soaring vocals, dark guitar undertones and a punching rhythm section. The charismatic, colourful and instantly likeable front person, Jel Pollock, draws listeners in with her delightfully unique stage presence and sensational vocal range. Aaron Ludlow (guitar), Andy van der Heyden (bass) and Corey Bell (drums), provide the energetic foundations complimenting Jel, with all members lighting up the stage.

The band has released a number or records over the years enjoying success on the Official NZ Top 40 Charts. The past 3 Curlys Jewels singles were recorded at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers) and mixed by Clint Murphy (Devilskin).

Curlys Jewels have supported several heavy weight New Zealand bands such as Head Like a Hole, Devilskin, and toured with The Feelers. They also supported international rock stars Living Colour at their Wellington concert.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

Absentee
Year: 2019
Type: EP
The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem