22 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skinny Hobos - Single/Video Review: Suburban Living

24 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
I have never had much time for religion. You know, if you believe in God then by the same logic you might believe in Santa Clause or Fairies. However, there is a movement, I wouldn't call it a cult but from it's central Auckland base the word is spreading and I think I just may have been converted to Hoboism.

To have followers you need to be a leader and the Skinny Hobos have two. The guitar-wielding hairy beast that is Elvis and the equally hairy tub-thumping beast that is Texas. They may even have a little royal blood running through their veins to elevate them above the crowd.

Texas and Elvis have been sonically spreading their message across NZ converting the disenfranchised, the lost and hopeful and the latest Skinny Hobos offering, Suburban Living is the third chapter in a video/song series that sees us all bowing down to the mighty lizard kings.

The guys are still chasing "the man" but this time they aren't f**king around. This rocket fueled slab of riffs and speeding drums blasts out of the gates full pelt and takes no prisoners. The sound is full on and cannot be ignored. It is the best they have done, they have stolen from the Merchant of Tirau and laughed at the Jokers and Fools along the way. If you do not want to move to Suburban Living then you are already dead.

In suburban New Zealand, the enemy is hiding behind masks and Elvis is in the building preaching, "you gotta take your pills if you wanna get your thrills". Texas and Elvis punch above their weight and with a song like this in their arsenal they can't lose. It's war played out in a field of acid dreams and there are lots of casualties.

I can't wait for Texas and Elvis chapter 4, verse 1.
 

About Skinny Hobos

Skinny Hobos are a 2-piece Alternative Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand who make far more noise than any two people should!

The Hobos have quickly earned a reputation for being the hardest working band in town. In 2015, they played more shows than there were weeks in the year, as well as recording their debut album at Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios with engineer Nick Poortman (Ekko Park, Jason Kerrison).

They finished off the year with a very successful co-headlined North Island tour with Wellington band Bakers Eddy, and they were also featured in the December/January issue of NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skinny Hobos

Releases

Lucifer
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Skinny Hobos
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem