12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skinny Hobos - Single/Video Review: Suburban Living

24 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
I have never had much time for religion. You know, if you believe in God then by the same logic you might believe in Santa Clause or Fairies. However, there is a movement, I wouldn't call it a cult but from it's central Auckland base the word is spreading and I think I just may have been converted to Hoboism.

To have followers you need to be a leader and the Skinny Hobos have two. The guitar-wielding hairy beast that is Elvis and the equally hairy tub-thumping beast that is Texas. They may even have a little royal blood running through their veins to elevate them above the crowd.

Texas and Elvis have been sonically spreading their message across NZ converting the disenfranchised, the lost and hopeful and the latest Skinny Hobos offering, Suburban Living is the third chapter in a video/song series that sees us all bowing down to the mighty lizard kings.

The guys are still chasing "the man" but this time they aren't f**king around. This rocket fueled slab of riffs and speeding drums blasts out of the gates full pelt and takes no prisoners. The sound is full on and cannot be ignored. It is the best they have done, they have stolen from the Merchant of Tirau and laughed at the Jokers and Fools along the way. If you do not want to move to Suburban Living then you are already dead.

In suburban New Zealand, the enemy is hiding behind masks and Elvis is in the building preaching, "you gotta take your pills if you wanna get your thrills". Texas and Elvis punch above their weight and with a song like this in their arsenal they can't lose. It's war played out in a field of acid dreams and there are lots of casualties.

I can't wait for Texas and Elvis chapter 4, verse 1.
 

About Skinny Hobos

Skinny Hobos are a 2-piece Alternative Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand who make far more noise than any two people should!

The Hobos have quickly earned a reputation for being the hardest working band in town. In 2015, they played more shows than there were weeks in the year, as well as recording their debut album at Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios with engineer Nick Poortman (Ekko Park, Jason Kerrison).

They finished off the year with a very successful co-headlined North Island tour with Wellington band Bakers Eddy, and they were also featured in the December/January issue of NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skinny Hobos

Releases

Skinny Hobos
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem