25 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Ebola Babies - Album Review: Ebola Babies

30 May 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was really looking forward to this album. I love punk and with a name like EbolaBabies, it was pretty clear that this set of songs should be right up my street. In fact, the band has termed their music "scrap metal". I like their attitude, if you are going to be pigeon-holed by other people why not get in there first and do it yourself.

Ok, so let's get into the music. The album starts with a tongue in cheek version of the NZ National Anthem complete with sheep noises. It made me smile and it is short enough not to get too annoying. Reminds me of something that Deja Voodoo would come up with and there are other tracks on this album in a similar vein.

The first thing that stands out is Jason White's vocals. This man really does sound like he has rocks rattling around in the back of his throat. Songs like Caravan Lovers and Gimp Man (yep sense of humour still intact) are reminiscent of bands like UK Subs or some of the Oi' bands of the early eighties.

This music isn't pretty or clever and with lyrics like "I have seen some funny shit, some fucking weird shit, ping pong balls and shit" (Gimp Man) it's clear that Ebola Babies aren't aiming for the politically motivated, activist punk crowd.

By this point I was hoping for a bit more energy and Red Light District picks up the pace with a clever use of samples and backing vocals, it is the stand out track for me. The rest of the album is much of the same really.

These guys have a formula and they seem to be sticking to it. Ebola Babies don't kick, spit and scream they chug along doing their own thing and that's ultimately what didn't work for me. I wanted a bit more buzz, a bit of the energy that was hinted at in Red Light District. A bit of variation. Music needs to make you feel something - I want to love it or hate it and in the end, I wasn't doing either.

Great attitude, great name, stand out voice and looking at the live footage from recent gigs, I think that is where you should check out these songs. Go and see them live.
 

About Ebola Babies

The Sex Pistols had one, Cockney Rejects had one, Sham 69 had one, so when a band was being put together that was going to channel the sounds and ethics of these bastions of the punk scene, the only thing that made sense was having three guitarists. But no widdly widdly solos or fancy duets, this is all about plugging in, riffing hard and creating a whole new form of punk which they call 'Scrap Metal'.

Jason originally started the band four years ago as the drummer, and after a few changes he moved to guitar and was joined by Graham on bass. Jon joined as a second guitarist, but when the drummer left he swapped six strings for a drum seat. Talk about musical chairs! They stayed as a trio for a while, but it wasn't delivering the power they wanted so in stepped Kev, who has been a mate of Graham's for twenty-five years. He added another dimension to the sound, but it still wasn't what they were striving for, and it was with the arrival of Ants in late 2015, who brought a heavier vibe, that things felt right. With three guitars, they punish the ears in an assault on the senses.

They had trouble finding a name that suited them, and worked under the moniker Red Light District for a while after the song of the same name, but then they discovered that there was a Dutch jazz band using it. It wasn't until Graham heard a report on the radio about a woman who gave birth to a baby born with Ebola that they knew what name they were to use.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ebola Babies

Releases

Ebola Babies
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem