30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bleeders - Gig Review: Bleeders @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/11/2016

28 Nov 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

There is a buzz around tonight's gig. An energy that I can feel when I walk into the Kings Arms. The last time I saw the Bleeders was around 2004 and I remember they were one of the few bands that would travel down to Tauranga and be able to attract a great crowd. 

First up it's Blue Ruin. They catch the energy in the room and amplify it 100%. The music is fast and loud, much heavier/punkier than when I last saw them. The onstage banter is also flying around as fast as Anna's drumbeats and they leave the stage and the crowd feeling wired and wanting more.

Next up it's Fireshark. Where Blue Ruin took the energy and bounced it off the walls these guys are laser focused. The set is intense and fast and the mosh pit gets underway. This is punk influenced rock as it is supposed to be played. No messing just get on with it and pummel the crowd into submission. Great songs, great band enough said.

After a quick breath of air in the KA beer garden the screech of a guitar indicates the Bleeders have taken the stage. I haven't seen this many people in the Kings Arms for a local band in a long time. The fact it is for a Bleeders gig makes it even more satisfying. It has been 7 years since they split and lets hope this flurry of gigs means they are going to be writing some new material.

Angelo is a ball of energy and the band have lost none of the intensity that makes their gigs so special. There is a genuine connection with the crowd and stage diving ensues almost from the opening riffs. I get goosebumps as the band launch into All That Glitters and I am taken back to a time where gigs always seemed to be loud, sweaty and packed. There are some technical issues but that isn't going to phase the Bleeders tonight. This is a celebration, song after song delivered as if it was the first time they had played them. After one encore it is all over too soon and the circle pit stops spinning. We head out into the night having seen one of NZ's best bands fill NZ's best venue. Let's hope both the Bleeders and The Kings Arms are here to stay.

 

About Bleeders

Formed in 2002, it didn't take long for Auckland based Bleeders to take off. In their debut year they released the legendary hardcore punk NZ classic A Bleeding Heart EP. This was followed by constant sold out shows all over NZ. In 2004 the band was rewarded for their hard work and ever growing fan base by signing a record deal to Universal Music.

2006 was a huge year for the Bleeders. Their debut album, the anthemic power house that is Sweet As Sin, reached 2 in the charts, garnered them Best Breakthough Artist and Best Rock Album at the 2006 New Zealand Music Awards and went on to sell Gold. The band toured like maniacs in NZ and headed across the Tasman no less than five times at the invitation of everyone from Avenged Sevenfold and AFI to Aussie acts Gyroscope and Behind Crimson Eyes.

The self-titled follow up to Sweet As Sin rejects any notion of resting on laurels. Produced by Clint Murphy and the Bleeders at Auckland’s York Street Studios and mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, Bleeders was a return to the brutal vitality that first brought them to people’s attention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bleeders

Releases

Bleeders
Year: 2007
Type: Album
As Sweet As Sin
Year: 2006
Type: Album
A Bleeding Heart
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem