7 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On

05 Sep 2016 // A review by mciver29

Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.

 

Upon my first listen I caught quite a few influences, namely Justin Townes Earl and Jack Johnson with a touch of Elemeno P. The horn section featured throughout Shine On was pinched from another Kiwi act, Strangely Arousing, and in that comes my reference to Townes Earl. They share a very similar vibe though perhaps not as filled with the quiet angst Townes Earl captures.

 

It's also refreshing to know that real horn players were used in the recording, as much as it can be easy to fool listeners with programmed horns you just can't beat the imperfections that come with real players and instruments.

Shine On features 10 well put together pop tracks with a lot of attention given to the song arrangements, the horn section is a noted success. Not one to normally be a fan of horn sections in pop music I can easily say it's been worked in really thoughtfully.

Shine On is ideally for fans of artists such as Jack Johnson, Donovan Frankenreiter and Justin Townes Earl. It's light, poppy and sincere – a good summer addition to the collection if you're down with the softer side of music.
Maybe a G & T outside by the BBQ is the appropriate setting.

I can't say I had a stand out track, they all sit well together and the album flows well so my lack of a "stand out" isn't a bad thing.
 

 

About Andy Richards

Having been in various bands for the last 10 years, Andy Richards is now embarking on a solo career with many musician pals helping out. His catchy, intricate songs are a mixture of 60's & 70's tunes and modern Pop Rock. With an impressive live show and a growing fanbase, things are looking good!

So, ladies and gentlemen, come see a live show, grab a CD, keep in contact and join the parade... THE ANDY RICHARDS PARADE.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Andy Richards

Releases

Shades
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Shine On
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Acoustic Bombs
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Falling
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Music
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
EP Review: Simon Hirst - Shining in Silver
08 Dec 2015 // by mciver29
New from Hamilton-based singer/songwriter Simon Hirst is the 4 track EP titled Shining In Silver. At first glance you could be forgiven for expecting a very Ed Sheeran type release by the look of his Facebook page, showing that he uses loopers when performing solo and shows a similar look to Sheeran.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem