5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jason Kerrison - EP Review: #JKEP1

27 Mar 2015 // A review by mciver29

For those new to Jason Kerrison's music, he was also the frontman for platinum selling Kiwi pop/rock band OpShop. To be honest I didn't even know OpShop had disbanded, I wasn't a follower but they had some good catchy songs such as No Ordinary Thing and One Day, so naturally I had some preconceived ideas of what to expect when I came to do this review.

 

The first thing I noticed was that while there are guitars present in the songs it really is just a background instrument, otherwise the songs are lathered in sampled drums, synthesizers and loops... which will really appeal to some people but kind of flew over my head.

 

At times I can hear influence from The Naked and Famous, Metro Station ( remember that horrible “shake it” song From 2009?) and U2 (the Zooropa era) so clearly Jason has a very hip and current sound happening on his debut solo EP, something mainstream radio listeners will really get into, and as it says in his Soundcloud description people might “shake their hips”.

 

One thing I have a hard time envisioning is performing the songs live, perhaps he will do a Chris Cornell and just strip them back live to basic arrangements but then could go the opposite way as well... but as far as the EP goes, I was personally hoping for something with a little more of a human feel to it. It's a very slick and polished release and I'm sure it's completely intentional, therefore a success in its own right regardless of my opinion of production style.

All that aside though Kerrison has a great voice which I have always thought so, and this is really shown on the last track, On My Own. This particular song is where I thought the EP would go when I was coming into it. As a musician I understand the want to try new things and expand on your audience and writing but as a fan I think less production and gloss would have done the songs more justice, as I really enjoy listening to Jason's ballad style songs, he has a great knack for capturing real emotion in his voice with the right song choice and songs like I Don't Care What They Think seem to be purpose-made for radio with somewhat empty lyrics and cliché programming driving it. I'm genuinely curious to hear what he brings out in the future but #JKEP1 didn't quench my thirst.

 

About Jason Kerrison

Jason Kerrison is a multi-platinum, multi-award winning Singer, Songwriter, Producer from New Zealand. He is one of few artists nominated twice for the prestigious APRA Silver Scroll Song Writing Award, winning in 2008.

He was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (M.N.Z.M.) for services to Music in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List, presented on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen by the New Zealand Governor General.

He was also recognized for organizing the biggest free concert ever held in New Zealand (160,000 attendance) for the people of earthquake stricken Christchurch.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jason Kerrison

Releases

#JKEP2
Year: 2016
Type: EP
#JKEP1
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem