7 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2

02 Mar 2016 // A review by mciver29

The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.

Jason's new E.P, titled JKEP2 strikes me as somewhat experimental and I think that is a cool thing. I like it when musicians try new things and step outside the box, in saying that you have to try new things and sometimes fail in order to grow.

The theme to the new E.P is based on the sacred geometry of the Phi ratio and recorded at 432 htz....for those that don't know what that means it is a tuning that is in between standard concert pitch and half step (Eb) tuning. This is something I have played with myself but thought it sounded weird and off key, in this case it sounds nice but I have a hard time agreeing that it is universally healing as is claimed by various people... it reminds me of something David Avocado Wolfe would make a meme about.

So the first song on the E.P is 30 seconds long and the following 2 or 3 are similar lengths which to me just sounds like 3 unfinished songs that could have been great but 30 seconds in they just stop dead in their tracks, all intentional but creating a sense of somewhat unfinished work.

My review of JKEP1 was pretty critical due to it's pop shimmer and lyrical content so I'm glad that this new offering is much deeper lyrically and sounds much more thought out, something I was actually expecting in the first place.
So as we get past the 30 second songs the E.P grows into a much more concise effort though I found the last song, All Of Your Senses, about 5 minutes too long and more resembles something I would enjoy while getting a massage, it's relaxing and pleasant but doesn't really go anywhere.

It's kind of a blend between songs that are too short to get a point across, songs that are what one would expect and then a song that is far too long.

In saying this I know some people will totally connect with it all and others will think it is lacking something – I am of both parties.

If you are a Jason Kerrison fan this is worth getting though, he has put it up for download for the price of “you choose”, whether it's 50c or $15 so there is nothing to loose really and it feels like a much more honest release this time around though I felt it is lacking consistency.

I like choruses and hooks and for the first half of the E.P they don't really happen, so that kind of set the tone of my review though like any review I write I encourage readers to make up their own minds and to check out the music for themselves, so get to it!

 

About Jason Kerrison

Jason Kerrison is the lead vocalist/guitarist for popular NZ band OpShop.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jason Kerrison

Releases

#JKEP2
Year: 2016
Type: EP
#JKEP1
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
EP Review: Simon Hirst - Shining in Silver
08 Dec 2015 // by mciver29
New from Hamilton-based singer/songwriter Simon Hirst is the 4 track EP titled Shining In Silver. At first glance you could be forgiven for expecting a very Ed Sheeran type release by the look of his Facebook page, showing that he uses loopers when performing solo and shows a similar look to Sheeran.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem