23 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Hollow Men - Album Review: Shatter the Bones

05 Sep 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

Apparently, this album was tracked in 24 hours and the result is an energy soaked powerhouse of punk n roll which reflects the pedigree of this Waiheke based band who recently supported The Ruts DC. Guitarist Brendan Mooney has a long musical history in the UK playing with various artists including Dave Vanian and the Phantom Chords  who were signed to Polydor. Drummer Carsten Blutner also adds to the international flavour as he played with West Berlin-based band Loose Trigger.

This mix of influence and experience results in a sound that allows The Hollow Men to stand out. And it is clear They know what they are doing and what they want. Shatter the Bones is not the result of NZ on Air funding and the watered down radio friendly songs that system churns out. With its punk roots, this album kicks against the system and it's clear The Hollow Men are making music for themselves and not for a "Kiwi hit disc". Amen to them for that. 

Maybe it's because I grew up in the UK but this album transports you back to those grimy streets with songs like Bacon capturing the edgy attitude you can face walking the streets of London. Stand out track for me is Too Bad (Dirty Red) which reminds me of The Godfathers with its attitude and catchy chorus. 

All the songs on Shatter the Bones blast along with a spirit and energy many bands struggle to capture. Turn it up loud and you can hear the guitar amps buzz and the drums reverb like they are in the room with you. The Hollow Men aren't trying to be clever or cool they are just doing what they do and doing it well. Punk is an attitude and Shatter the Bones spits, crackles, and buzzes with it.

If I need to get the ferry to Waiheke to see this band live then I am there and you should be too. This is music that needs to be heard loud through an overloaded PA in an overcrowded bar and I can't wait to see that. 

Shatter the Bones - The Hollow Men. Great album, great attitude BUY IT NOW with a side order of bacon.

Paul Goddard

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem