14 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Hollow Men - Album Review: Shatter the Bones

05 Sep 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

Apparently, this album was tracked in 24 hours and the result is an energy soaked powerhouse of punk n roll which reflects the pedigree of this Waiheke based band who recently supported The Ruts DC. Guitarist Brendan Mooney has a long musical history in the UK playing with various artists including Dave Vanian and the Phantom Chords  who were signed to Polydor. Drummer Carsten Blutner also adds to the international flavour as he played with West Berlin-based band Loose Trigger.

This mix of influence and experience results in a sound that allows The Hollow Men to stand out. And it is clear They know what they are doing and what they want. Shatter the Bones is not the result of NZ on Air funding and the watered down radio friendly songs that system churns out. With its punk roots, this album kicks against the system and it's clear The Hollow Men are making music for themselves and not for a "Kiwi hit disc". Amen to them for that. 

Maybe it's because I grew up in the UK but this album transports you back to those grimy streets with songs like Bacon capturing the edgy attitude you can face walking the streets of London. Stand out track for me is Too Bad (Dirty Red) which reminds me of The Godfathers with its attitude and catchy chorus. 

All the songs on Shatter the Bones blast along with a spirit and energy many bands struggle to capture. Turn it up loud and you can hear the guitar amps buzz and the drums reverb like they are in the room with you. The Hollow Men aren't trying to be clever or cool they are just doing what they do and doing it well. Punk is an attitude and Shatter the Bones spits, crackles, and buzzes with it.

If I need to get the ferry to Waiheke to see this band live then I am there and you should be too. This is music that needs to be heard loud through an overloaded PA in an overcrowded bar and I can't wait to see that. 

Shatter the Bones - The Hollow Men. Great album, great attitude BUY IT NOW with a side order of bacon.

Paul Goddard

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem