24 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eva Prowse - Album Review: Humid Nights

26 Aug 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

I first came across Eva Prowse when watching Fly My Pretties, but I haven’t heard her first album I Can’t Keep Secrets, so didn’t know what to expect with this latest release.

The first thing that really stands out about Humid Nightsare the song arrangements. They hit you with a mix of off-kilter synths and Eva's distinctive vocals. It’s upbeat, soulful and thoughtful dealing with subject matters such as relationship breakdowns in the title track Humid Nights, and the most instantly catchy track is the single Wannabe.

My favourite track is No Man, which is apparently a celebration of the female characters in Game of Thrones but with me being just about the only person on the planet who hasn’t watched one episode of Game of Thrones I wouldn’t know.

The most impressive aspect of this album is that it stands out for being different. There are no formulaic pop songs on here and that is a good thing. Too many artists hook into something that sells and repeat the process ultimately losing something along the way. In a musical community as small as New Zealand’s we need people who dare to be different and Humid Nights is an album that stands out from the crowd.

Eva has managed to create a sound that is her own. As a reviewer, you are always listening and comparing to other similar artists as a reference point. It was refreshing to be able to listen to Humid Nights as something new that stands on its own creativity. My only criticism is that I would have liked printed lyrics as Eva has a style that means some of the lyrics can be difficult to make out and I would love to get the full picture.

Humid Nights should be added to your playlist as each listen throws something new at you. It is a collection of songs to be explored time and time again. Eva is a talent that will keep delivering if she keeps forging her own path with songs like these.  4/5

Paul Goddard
 

About Eva Prowse

Eva Prowse is a striking new-folk-pop singer songwriter who has rewritten the rules of country-folk to create a fusion of genres which undeniably proves her talent as one of New Zealand’s emerging female vocalists.

Prowse impresses audiences with her clear vocals, quirky lyrics and command of the violin, guitar and mandolin.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eva Prowse

Releases

Humid Nights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Crazy Eyes
Year: 2013
Type: EP
I Can't Keep Secrets
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem