20 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eva Prowse - Album Review: Humid Nights

26 Aug 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

I first came across Eva Prowse when watching Fly My Pretties, but I haven’t heard her first album I Can’t Keep Secrets, so didn’t know what to expect with this latest release.

The first thing that really stands out about Humid Nightsare the song arrangements. They hit you with a mix of off-kilter synths and Eva's distinctive vocals. It’s upbeat, soulful and thoughtful dealing with subject matters such as relationship breakdowns in the title track Humid Nights, and the most instantly catchy track is the single Wannabe.

My favourite track is No Man, which is apparently a celebration of the female characters in Game of Thrones but with me being just about the only person on the planet who hasn’t watched one episode of Game of Thrones I wouldn’t know.

The most impressive aspect of this album is that it stands out for being different. There are no formulaic pop songs on here and that is a good thing. Too many artists hook into something that sells and repeat the process ultimately losing something along the way. In a musical community as small as New Zealand’s we need people who dare to be different and Humid Nights is an album that stands out from the crowd.

Eva has managed to create a sound that is her own. As a reviewer, you are always listening and comparing to other similar artists as a reference point. It was refreshing to be able to listen to Humid Nights as something new that stands on its own creativity. My only criticism is that I would have liked printed lyrics as Eva has a style that means some of the lyrics can be difficult to make out and I would love to get the full picture.

Humid Nights should be added to your playlist as each listen throws something new at you. It is a collection of songs to be explored time and time again. Eva is a talent that will keep delivering if she keeps forging her own path with songs like these.  4/5

Paul Goddard
 

About Eva Prowse

Eva Prowse is a striking new-folk-pop singer songwriter who has rewritten the rules of country-folk to create a fusion of genres which undeniably proves her talent as one of New Zealand’s emerging female vocalists.

Prowse impresses audiences with her clear vocals, quirky lyrics and command of the violin, guitar and mandolin.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eva Prowse

Releases

Humid Nights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Crazy Eyes
Year: 2013
Type: EP
I Can't Keep Secrets
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem