13 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eva Prowse - Album Review: Humid Nights

26 Aug 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

I first came across Eva Prowse when watching Fly My Pretties, but I haven’t heard her first album I Can’t Keep Secrets, so didn’t know what to expect with this latest release.

The first thing that really stands out about Humid Nightsare the song arrangements. They hit you with a mix of off-kilter synths and Eva's distinctive vocals. It’s upbeat, soulful and thoughtful dealing with subject matters such as relationship breakdowns in the title track Humid Nights, and the most instantly catchy track is the single Wannabe.

My favourite track is No Man, which is apparently a celebration of the female characters in Game of Thrones but with me being just about the only person on the planet who hasn’t watched one episode of Game of Thrones I wouldn’t know.

The most impressive aspect of this album is that it stands out for being different. There are no formulaic pop songs on here and that is a good thing. Too many artists hook into something that sells and repeat the process ultimately losing something along the way. In a musical community as small as New Zealand’s we need people who dare to be different and Humid Nights is an album that stands out from the crowd.

Eva has managed to create a sound that is her own. As a reviewer, you are always listening and comparing to other similar artists as a reference point. It was refreshing to be able to listen to Humid Nights as something new that stands on its own creativity. My only criticism is that I would have liked printed lyrics as Eva has a style that means some of the lyrics can be difficult to make out and I would love to get the full picture.

Humid Nights should be added to your playlist as each listen throws something new at you. It is a collection of songs to be explored time and time again. Eva is a talent that will keep delivering if she keeps forging her own path with songs like these.  4/5

Paul Goddard
 

About Eva Prowse

Eva Prowse is a striking new-folk-pop singer songwriter who has rewritten the rules of country-folk to create a fusion of genres which undeniably proves her talent as one of New Zealand’s emerging female vocalists.

Prowse impresses audiences with her clear vocals, quirky lyrics and command of the violin, guitar and mandolin.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eva Prowse

Releases

Humid Nights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Crazy Eyes
Year: 2013
Type: EP
I Can't Keep Secrets
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem