16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eva Prowse - Album Review: Humid Nights

26 Aug 2016 // A review by Paul Goddard

I first came across Eva Prowse when watching Fly My Pretties, but I haven’t heard her first album I Can’t Keep Secrets, so didn’t know what to expect with this latest release.

The first thing that really stands out about Humid Nightsare the song arrangements. They hit you with a mix of off-kilter synths and Eva's distinctive vocals. It’s upbeat, soulful and thoughtful dealing with subject matters such as relationship breakdowns in the title track Humid Nights, and the most instantly catchy track is the single Wannabe.

My favourite track is No Man, which is apparently a celebration of the female characters in Game of Thrones but with me being just about the only person on the planet who hasn’t watched one episode of Game of Thrones I wouldn’t know.

The most impressive aspect of this album is that it stands out for being different. There are no formulaic pop songs on here and that is a good thing. Too many artists hook into something that sells and repeat the process ultimately losing something along the way. In a musical community as small as New Zealand’s we need people who dare to be different and Humid Nights is an album that stands out from the crowd.

Eva has managed to create a sound that is her own. As a reviewer, you are always listening and comparing to other similar artists as a reference point. It was refreshing to be able to listen to Humid Nights as something new that stands on its own creativity. My only criticism is that I would have liked printed lyrics as Eva has a style that means some of the lyrics can be difficult to make out and I would love to get the full picture.

Humid Nights should be added to your playlist as each listen throws something new at you. It is a collection of songs to be explored time and time again. Eva is a talent that will keep delivering if she keeps forging her own path with songs like these.  4/5

Paul Goddard
 

About Eva Prowse

Eva Prowse is a striking new-folk-pop singer songwriter who has rewritten the rules of country-folk to create a fusion of genres which undeniably proves her talent as one of New Zealand’s emerging female vocalists.

Prowse impresses audiences with her clear vocals, quirky lyrics and command of the violin, guitar and mandolin.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eva Prowse

Releases

Humid Nights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Crazy Eyes
Year: 2013
Type: EP
I Can't Keep Secrets
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem