25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shapeshifter - SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats

03 Oct 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood

This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats

The EP comes as a result of The Upbeats production role on Shapies Delta record last year. The two groups decided they wanted to write a record that didn't feature one act in particular but wanted to see what a straight colab would produce.

"It's an amalgamation of the two groups, where we are known for live [music], having these guys on board has given us a bit of grunt, we needed a bit of inspiration. These guys are really pushing the level." - P-Digsss.

The collaborators favourite track is Little by Little, which is the most cohesive collaboration of the two acts, but mine is the opening tune Bloodstream. Bloodstream mashes the smashing, pulsing Upbeats riddim, with the silky smooth voice of P-Digsss. These two juxtaposing flavors compliment perfectly. 

All n All, I really enjoyed this record. It's a brave new step for two acts to jump together and co-release an entire EP, and it's this approach that I feel will help keep kiwi music vital and buoyant. I hope to see a part two to this EP and more collaborations from kiwi electronic artists in the future.  

 

About Shapeshifter

New Zealand's best live act is an extraordinary spectacle you can't miss.

Shapeshifter has been heralded as a musical phenomenon on their ground breaking live shows and unique blend of heavy Soul/Drum n Bass. Their reputation as pioneers of modern music was built by an unique approach to Electronic music which had previously been restricted to computer based studio musicians and has earned them widespread critical and commercial acclaim.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shapeshifter

Releases

Rituals
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Stars
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
SSXUB
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Delta
Year: 2013
Type: Album
System Remix
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The System Is A Vampire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Shapeshifter Live
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Soulstice
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Riddim Wise
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Styles
Year: 2003
Type: EP
Been Missing / Relocator
Year: 2003
Type: EP
D.N.A.
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Realtime
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats.
Read More...
Unknown - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review
05 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle.
Read More...
Kerretta - Pirohia Album Review
04 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I am going to do away with the Isis and Mogwai comparisons. Let's focus on how fucking good this record is.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem