17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review

05 Sep 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood

There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle. The other is looking at this record on it's own merits. And to be fair to the hundreds of solid NZ rock bands out there, this record sucks. If you or I released this record we would be laughed at. The production is less then average for someone with more money sense. The song writing is clearly written from a drummers perspective, and it sounds worse than a parody of what this record should have been.

I am not taking away from the abilities of the musicians. They can play but nothing is challenged on this record. It's all safe territory for these cheddar rockers. Boring as fuck. Song fades, regurgitated structures, not to mention there are some strange volume swells on the record.

All in all this record sounds like 65 year old teenagers. And that is enough for me not recommend this record. It's shabby, flabby and fucking boring. I would have thought after his twenty years of jet setting and being a legend (in his own words), he would have come up with something less than plain. I'd be surprised if it even makes it to The Rock's playlist. 

I'd love to hear the singer give it a whirl on his own, he briefly touches on some Soundgarden stylisms, which is nice but once again the crappy double tracking doesn't go far.

Most disappointing record of the month. Phil Rudd is clearly his own biggest fan. What a tosser. If you want to hear some good straight Kiwi rock listen to Mind Riot or Stonehurst.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mindriot-NZ/167079906656658 
https://www.facebook.com/stonehurstband

 

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats.
Read More...
Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats.
Read More...
Whistlejacket - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Kerretta - Pirohia Album Review
04 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I am going to do away with the Isis and Mogwai comparisons. Let's focus on how fucking good this record is.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem