30 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kerretta - Pirohia Album Review

04 Sep 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood
I am going to do away with the Isis and Mogwai comparisons. Let's focus on how fucking good this record is.

Dave Holmes, Avotor and Meterman have smashed post rock preconceptions with this 8 track monstrosity. They have raised the stakes, challenged themselves and written a godzilla of an album. In the most part the long phrases of delay driven chordal arrangements have been replaced by wondrously textured walls of rock guitars, and if you think I mean your standard root fifth power chordal shit, you are mistaken my friend. Holmes stacks notes with the finesse of an oil painter, giving the music even more depth than previously imagined. Drum master, Meterman, takes you on journey from skull fracturing doom to sweet sunsets of serenity, while Waters, aka 
Avotor, holds the ship steady with his relentlessly tight and precise low end.

Kerretta have put the rock back into post rock and this is killer. This transition, conscious or not, will instantly have them appealing to a wider spectrum of listener. There is so much going on in this record that it will take you half a dozen listens to comprehend everything that the guys have sculptured.

The record was mastered at Abbey Road and it tells. It's thick, juicy and pristine. Congrats Boys you have outdone yourselves with Pirohia.
 

About Kerretta

For those who have seen their blistering live show, Kerretta will no doubt be high on the "to see" gig agenda. Those yet to experience the propulsive, driving rock of this instrumental three-piece have a chance to see them push the envelope of tone and dynamics in an intense half hour set.

Their catchy, sometimes ambient and occasionally earsplittingly heavy brand of molten-core will appeal to fans of Sigur Ros and Bailterspace, but discerning listeners will know the trio peddle a uniquely atmospheric take on angular rock.

A performance in January 2009 at The Big Day Out helped them share stages with the like of Battles and Explosions In The Sky.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kerretta

Releases

Exiscens
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Pirohia
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Saansilo
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Vilayer
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Antient
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats.
Read More...
Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats.
Read More...
Unknown - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review
05 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    MÃ¥neskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem