23 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mahoney Harris - We Didn't Feel Alone Album Review

28 Sep 2014 // A review by mciver29

I have to admit that it took far too long for me to get around to reviewing Mahoney Harris's newly released album, We Didn't Feel Alone.

It kind of stared at me every day with a looming deadline staring me in the face, funnily enough it suited now more than it would have suited then. So I find myself sipping tea on the first Sunday evening of daylight savings with a very mood suited album of acoustic based, moody but very pretty songs.

There are parts in which remind me of the John Frusciante's, To Record Only Water for Ten Days, echoing also the likes of Enya and of local artists Jan Hellriegel and Julia Deans.

Overall the tracks match really well, not in the sense that they sound the same but in that they keep a solid musical theme through out, sometimes using similar samples between songs, which I thought tied them together well.

Mahoney has a very natural and unforced voice which pulled my attention right from the hauntingly beautiful opening track, Real Deal. She has created some beautiful arrangements for the songs that really take the tracks into that place where you can put on head phones and kind of get lost in the textures and atmosphere behind the songs.

Funnily enough out of the 9 beautifully captured songs featured on her debut full length album, it is the opening track (Real Deal) and closing track (We Didn't Feel Alone) that really grabbed me on the first few listens. I really like the warmth to the tracks, the sound achieved is a very live sound while still very balanced and thought out, everyone sits well in their parts and they all compliment each other well.

We Didn't Feel Alone is another reason why I support crowd funding sites as it helps legitimate artists record high quality releases such as Mahoney's new offering, showing that if we can get behind our artists we won't simply be “good for a Kiwi”.
We Didn't Feel Alone is available through iTunes and http://www.amplifier.co.nz/. Support local artists!

We Didn't Feel Alone
View Track Listing
 

About Mahoney Harris

Folk/Pop artist, Mahoney Harris writes intimate, wistful but hopeful tunes. Her voice has been described as 'honest, charming and beguiling'.

Mahoney began playing guitar in the summer of 1996 while enduring a hot NYC summer. As soon as she could master a few chords she began writing songs and playing out at local open mike evenings around the city.

In 2009, with the help of Tom Healy (Paquin, Hannah Curwood) Mahoney recorded her debut EP, But They Do, receiving warm praise from music media.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mahoney Harris

Releases

We Didn't Feel Alone
Year: 2014
Type: Album
But They Do
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
EP Review: Simon Hirst - Shining in Silver
08 Dec 2015 // by mciver29
New from Hamilton-based singer/songwriter Simon Hirst is the 4 track EP titled Shining In Silver. At first glance you could be forgiven for expecting a very Ed Sheeran type release by the look of his Facebook page, showing that he uses loopers when performing solo and shows a similar look to Sheeran.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem