25 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amos/Anon - Gothique Doesn't Exist EP Review

12 Aug 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood

Gothique Doesn't Exist
Released 15 July 2014

Written and Produced by Amos/Anon.

This is the tenth release that Amos/Anon has recorded in as many years, a massive accomplishment in itself. This 5 song EP consists of unreleased songs that Amos/Anon (A/A) has written over the last decade. A/A poetically says that the songs have been released "out into the wild to be either ripped apart by wolves, or worse, neglected by the apathetic." 

GDE will be a welcome addition to any A/A fan's collection and follows a similar path of previous works by looking into the darker sides of human emotion and relationships. A/A's sometimes sarcastic and bleak attitude shines through once again and the vocals have progressed since the previous Beneath a Pound of Flesh record, almost sounding "Opeth-ish" at times. 

As a fan of stoner, doom and prog rock I enjoyed this down beat, low fi album and this is a record that I will come back to for future listening. My only thoughts for Amos/Anon's future endeavors is to keep cracking away at this unique take on brooding gothic music and maybe look to co-producing a couple of songs with similar (or even electronic) artists to further explore a niche which Amos/Anon has so clearly mastered. 

 

About Amos/Anon

If you haven't heard of Amos/Anon, then everything is fine. The system is working. Keep calm and stop thinking. Close your eyes and let capitalism lull you back into a dreamless slumber.

"...it’s Kiwi from end to end, indie and awesome. The more I listen, the more I want!"

"...unashamedly bolshie and brazen. There is no room for tenderness here."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Amos/Anon

Releases

The Empty Afterwards
Year: 2021
Type: Album
V H E M T
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Demos
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Postmortem
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Toil On, Poor Heart
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Anomy
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Gothique Doesn't Exist
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Beneath The Pound Of Flesh
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Thanatos
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Songs of a Tortured Soul
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Demos
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Darkness From Light
Year: 2011
Type: Album
My Schizophrenic Acoustic
Year: 2010
Type: EP
theLachrymist
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Systema
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Gothique
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats.
Read More...
Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats.
Read More...
Unknown - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review
05 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem