13 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SHAYNA - The Day Is Young Album Review

13 Mar 2014 // A review by mciver29

Shayna King is a Christchurch based singer/song writer though perhaps not in the most traditional sense, I was refreshed to find that she has a full backing band that helps add a little grit to the performances on the album.

The opening tracks on her debut album, The Day Is Young, are your typical acoustic, melodic, pop songs, they are well written but didnt jump out at me, that being said the production is clear and well balanced, well achieved for a self funded album.

I was how ever getting into the "seen it/heard it" mind frame so when Swept Away came into my head phones I was pleased that she and her band had stepped it up a little into perhaps a similar vein as fellow Christchurch musicians, Stellar. Swept Away is where I personally would have been eager to see the rest of the album go but thats not to say there are not more great moments in there.

Shayna has a strong voice, a good ear for melody and a solid band behind her with the male backing vocals adding a nice contrast between tracks.

The next song that stood out a little more was Heart Of Blues, again this track had a little more grit than the album openers dealing with what the blues deals so well with, relationships, heartache and ......well..... the blues really!

I felt the end section of the album is stronger than the opening, the songs had better topic choice and more ideas being thrown around, but thats just me, I encourage everyone to make up their own minds on these things and give all different types of music a chance.

So to sum it up, this is a poppy, acoustic based, strong first effort and I would be interested to see where her next release takes her as a song writer,as writing is a forever evolving process and can take many directions. Shayna and her band have done well with her first release, kudos :)

The Day Is Young
View Track Listing
 

About SHAYNA

“She already projects the image of a star at the top of the game – if she continues as is, that’s exactly where she’ll end up.” - Happy Mag (AU)

“The next best pop party to come out of New Zealand” – Music Nation (NZ)

A “melancholic view of an OE” has inspired New Zealand singer-songwriter SHAYNA’s new single Miles Away. “Travelling the globe with a sole companion and seeing the best and worst in each others characters as you are both exhausted, low on money and feeling like outsiders who don’t fit into the fast-paced rhythm of a foreign city.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SHAYNA

Releases

The Day Is Young
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem