28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swamp Thing - Primordium Album Review

07 Aug 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

If you have never heard of this band, its hard to imagine that it’s a twosome with the full sound they seem to generate. The first thing that struck me was the presence of the singer’s voice. To illustrate my initial comprehension, it's like your wife is pregnant, and then she gives birth to triplets. You initial reaction is one of stunned silence, and then you realise, actually this has so many cool implications to it (if you are slightly sick and twisted like myself).

The opening track Voodoo Doll is a corker, straight away I resonated with the sharp drum beat and blues style guitar. My feet uncontrollably attached themselves to the rhythm and refused to stop even after a stiff evil eye, obviously they have an ear for good music. The second song Swamp Thing held nothing back, my feet were straight back into a tap, this time with gusto and meaning. This song had a very swamp rock feel to it much like Creedence Clearwater Revival from the late 1960’s. Of which I pay much homage too without much persuasion.

Bumping & Grinding, Hand in a Hole and Genius have a similar feel to the two opening songs, which by no means is a bad thing. The Reckoning brings a more dirty, heavy change to the album, and this listener embraced this with passion, I especially like how the singers voice really compliments all styles the two bring to the table. Strung Out has a nice change of mellow pace, that brings the listener down to a swinging crescendo, only to be brought back up through a Jimi Hendrix influenced Hot Potato for those of you up on the popular culture of the 90’s I almost believed the NWO were coming through the curtains on an episode of Nitro with the opening funk chords on the electric guitar. 

The album is rounded off nicely with a fairy tale ending Come With Me when I see this band live, if they play this song, I will not be able to control myself, its trance like dreaminess will mean I’ll probably follow them, until the ends of the earth.

I really like this album, its one that will definitely sit in my IPod for a very long time. Both these guys should be very proud of what they have produced, not only artistically but also musically considering they are a two man band.

A definite buy for all music lovers.

Primordium
View Track Listing
 

About Swamp Thing

They're the two left in the juke joint when the hurricane's about to make landfall, when the revelers have gone home, sweat-soaked and exhausted. The bulbs are blown out, the floor's full of glass, but two men are honor bound to keep playing, pouring their sweat into the parched earth like libation. In the best traditions of two man blues and roots, Swamp Thing is a duo that you know are playing to stay alive.

A former member of The John Butler Trio, Michael Barker (drums/ percussion/ KeyBass/Vocals) formed the two man blues/roots duo Swamp Thing with Grant Haua vocals/guitar in 2010.

These two unique musicians share a wealth of experience to craft blues- flavoured music with a deep groove and soulful spook. Their first studio album Balladeer was recorded at Roundhead studios in may 2011 and their second album Primordium recorded at Barker's studio Twisty Pole in 2012 was released in January 2013.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swamp Thing

Releases

Let's Get Live
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Primordium
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Balladeer
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by Chris Chick
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem