5 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Papercity - Time Will Find You Single Review

07 Jan 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

What struck me straight away with this song was its remarkable capabilities to transcend me back into my late teens with only 10 seconds of the song, hours wasted playing Tony Hawks pro skater knowing all the words to such bands as Bad Religion, Papa Roach and more unknown British bands as Kneehigh, Waiting for Taylor, Gash and more recently amongst the American scene, Yellow Card springs to mind. The opening is in your face, very gritty, and makes you stand up and take notice. Once your mind has had a chance to recluse away from the hectic start, you ease back into your chair like a geriatric triathlete wishing for a break in proceedings. Your ears are pierced with a downright dirty sounding baseline that encompasses the mood of the song, then the inevitable pounding of the guitar stirs the mood back into a frenzy of excitement as you hit the chorus. It’s a formula that has worked time and time again and delivers in this aspect as well. This song grew on me the more I listened, I would have hoped for a longer introduction, it felt like eating a big fat juicy apple with a rotten core, I was a little disappointed to have continued eating to an extent. The words are simple and to the point, and for this my only negative issue was the length of the track, I felt the last minute dragged on and it could easily have sufficed at 3 minutes.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this track, from its sound production, to a clear singing voice, there is nothing worse than trying to understand what the singer is singing about.  If you like something a little heavier in the indy scene then this is a good option.

I do not want to get into a star, or out of 10 ratings,  it’s either a buy or not a buy buy. No messing around just straight to the point.

IT’S A BUY

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Papercity.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away
08 Dec 2023 // by Chris Chick
The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC
17 Feb 2023 // by Chris Chick
When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.
Read More...
Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem