29 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Papercity - Time Will Find You Single Review

07 Jan 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

What struck me straight away with this song was its remarkable capabilities to transcend me back into my late teens with only 10 seconds of the song, hours wasted playing Tony Hawks pro skater knowing all the words to such bands as Bad Religion, Papa Roach and more unknown British bands as Kneehigh, Waiting for Taylor, Gash and more recently amongst the American scene, Yellow Card springs to mind. The opening is in your face, very gritty, and makes you stand up and take notice. Once your mind has had a chance to recluse away from the hectic start, you ease back into your chair like a geriatric triathlete wishing for a break in proceedings. Your ears are pierced with a downright dirty sounding baseline that encompasses the mood of the song, then the inevitable pounding of the guitar stirs the mood back into a frenzy of excitement as you hit the chorus. It’s a formula that has worked time and time again and delivers in this aspect as well. This song grew on me the more I listened, I would have hoped for a longer introduction, it felt like eating a big fat juicy apple with a rotten core, I was a little disappointed to have continued eating to an extent. The words are simple and to the point, and for this my only negative issue was the length of the track, I felt the last minute dragged on and it could easily have sufficed at 3 minutes.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this track, from its sound production, to a clear singing voice, there is nothing worse than trying to understand what the singer is singing about.  If you like something a little heavier in the indy scene then this is a good option.

I do not want to get into a star, or out of 10 ratings,  it’s either a buy or not a buy buy. No messing around just straight to the point.

IT’S A BUY

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Papercity.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by Chris Chick
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
Supervillains (RMC) - SVRMC EP Review
09 Sep 2013 // by Chris Chick
I love taking on new challenges, I put my head down and meet the oncoming collision without any thought for my well being.  When I was given this assignment, I made a few trips to the world of the internet, to research this chaps, to assume the attack position.
Read More...
Swamp Thing Live @ Churchill Tavern, Christchurch 18/08/13
19 Aug 2013 // by Chris Chick
50 people certainly became fans of Swamp Thing, if they had not already been fans. The biggest travesty of this memorable evening is the fact that these two master musicians are not playing to larger crowds, and in my mind taking somewhere like the USA by storm with their blues, rockabilly, bluegrass, and rock vibe.
Read More...
Swamp Thing - Primordium Album Review
07 Aug 2013 // by Chris Chick
If you have never heard of this band, its hard to imagine that it’s a twosome with the full sound they seem to generate. The first thing that struck me was the presence of the singer’s voice.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise - One Drop Love EP Review
22 Jul 2013 // by Chris Chick
Yes, yes and yes is my new formula for a thing of beauty. This short 6 song EP is a thing of beauty that brought my senses to an almost orgasmic state.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem