8 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crimson Rain - Are You Happy Now Single Review

07 Sep 2011 // A review by CEOMong

Nice soft finger pluckin intro, cool reverb. Nice bass thrum. Easy vocal hook, very soft and enticing, yet building building, lots of promise there. Kind of choral vox builds slowly ... then chorus hits perfectly. Lull and coast into verse 2. Foot tapping rhythm, anticipation for the next chorus – there it is! Just needs to be a bit stauncher to rope the headbang in there I reckon, although on the second listen I had the volume up and it was pretty frakkin good.

Something about the first and second chorus gets me – it sounds kind of muddy or slow or something, I can’t figure it out. I like that each iteration gets a bit heavier though – as a unit it's very very cool. About the perfect length too ...

Wicked gax solo into at about 3:40, I couldn’t help waiting for some Satriani picking, although I do love the bends! Nice drop at around 90 secs from the end – I get chills every time! Beasty boost back up 70 secs out – nice! This is the staunch bit I was waiting for! Cool howl!

Beautiful outro – it ties the whole track together really nicely.

I like it more and more the more I listen!

Yes, I’m happy now,
CEOMong

 

About Crimson Rain

May 2010... Crimson Rain was formed by good friends Pras K and Avi Pranish as an alternative band with the concept of not being genre specific. The songs are written with feel and groove with strong emphasis also placed on lyrical honesty and instrument melody.

Crimson Rain has been well received not only in New Zealand but also in Australia, Malaysia, Fiji and India. The band toured of Malaysia in July 2012.

Press:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crimson Rain

Releases

One by One
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem