3 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review

14 Aug 2012 // A review by CEOMong

Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable. Air gax was shredded, heads was banged, boots were stomped ... a good all round performance, precise, heavy and memorable.

Bring on the Persecution - Galloping straight into it, cool vox – typical thrash with a nice growl without being inaudible – very nice. Beasty power riffs and solid headbanging rhythms, I like it.

Fear Me - Blended nicely into this track, didn’t even really notice. Amazing, I’m enjoying this journey immensely already!

Warcry – Rousing vocal hook drops into some true air guitar, I was finger picking my way through the whole damned thing, you wouldn’t believe how long this took to write!

Carnage – 10 seconds in and it's my favourite song! CARNAGE! Wicked. Bit of a faster beat now, well placed on the CD as it picks up the pace nicely while sticking with the consistency thus far demonstrated. Nice outro ... slowly almost not at all winding down ... tasty.

Criminal – A fantastic follow-up track, nicely showing off far more bass – unexpected silent drop at the end was a nice touch.

Kill Thyself – Working more at the progression, getting heavier now – I like it. Fantastic work from the drums, I’m digging the mastering on this album.

Stillborn – Carries on the rhythm and gives it some more teeth, somehow ... another fantastic track.

Blackest Darkness – A fitting track to name the album after, just the right balance of everyone in my opinion, a very well put together track with a solid rhythm and some cool gax interleaved with the right mix of vox. Very cool.

Bloodshed – A logical progression, again, here – I like the journey on the album. Cool vocal effects and an interesting blend back towards the guitar with a slightly lessened bass line.

Annihilate – Love the intro. Hook busts in and grabs my ears ... another head banging tune! Niiiiice. Chewy chorus, I really like the tweaky gax coupled with the bass – well timed and executed throughout.

Still Here – This is the track that these guys could get a whole stadium chanting, and remembering them by. Very very cool – beasty, chant-worthy and above all heavy, a great way to end a great album.

Yup, still here.
CEOMong

 

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
The House Of Capricorn - In The Devil's Days Album Review
28 Nov 2011 // by CEOMong
At first I didn’t know what to say about the newest offering from the cloven hoofed ones, but the more I listen the more I have to say. I really like it, I’m not 100% sure why, there’s lots to like but nothing I can nail down ...
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem