27 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review

21 Jun 2012 // A review by CEOMong

Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.

Wicked groovy chorus riff, coupled with the consistent bass line makes for some boot tappin’ goodness. Hints of tricky gax, I especially like the power strums at around 2 mins. Real air guitar material, that.

Really nice flow from verse to chorus, no stop start which fits this song really nicely. Love the segue back into the verse – slightly different each time, my favourite is into verse 3.

Nice crescendo at a minute from the end, wicked outro – love the fade to black picking that ties back into the intro beautifully and links through the almost subliminal picking throughout – I love it.

I get chills every time I listen, and the damned thing won’t get out of my head! Epic.

My only complaint is it could sound a little sharper all round, in saying that for some reason it works and lends a real hallmark feature to Crimson Rain’s tunes. They’re all a little bit like this so I guess it's intentional – whatever it is, they shouldn’t change it. If nothing else it gives a little something extra to the rhythm section.

Why isn’t this song on the radio? It’s far better than the other pap they force on the mindless masses.

Another fantastic offering from Crimson Rain. It’s over too soon though – and that’s the real catastrophe.
CEOMong

 

About Crimson Rain

May 2010... Crimson Rain was formed by good friends Pras K and Avi Pranish as an alternative band with the concept of not being genre specific. The songs are written with feel and groove with strong emphasis also placed on lyrical honesty and instrument melody.

Crimson Rain has been well received not only in New Zealand but also in Australia, Malaysia, Fiji and India. The band toured of Malaysia in July 2012.

Press:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crimson Rain

Releases

One by One
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
The House Of Capricorn - In The Devil's Days Album Review
28 Nov 2011 // by CEOMong
At first I didn’t know what to say about the newest offering from the cloven hoofed ones, but the more I listen the more I have to say. I really like it, I’m not 100% sure why, there’s lots to like but nothing I can nail down ...
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem