20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sinate - To The Death Album Review

14 Mar 2012 // A review by CEOMong

Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now.

I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis! Fucken love it. Non-stop pace, this is an album full of wicked awesomeness, heavy precise gax, brutal lyrics, stupefying drums and solid bass, all lumped together with some outstanding artwork and masterfully engineered in Sweden – what more could you ask for?

This is, in my opinion, some of the finest work I’ve heard lately – and by far my favourite from these three hard rocking dudes no matter what band they were in. Bravo.

Enough of the wanky stuff – let’s read about the album, eh?

Curse of the Blood Eagle – delicate picking, BOOM into the insane gax and drummage – beasty. Full seated body mosh – love it. Beasty vocals  - huge powerful range blended well nicely with the rest of the band – eeeerie drop at the end after so much raw power .... dude.

Premonition of the Wicked – love the boot stomping desk thrumming drums man, they’re damned intense. Counterpointed very delicately are the equally as wicked gax – just when you think you’ve heard the best solo yet, wham – there’s another!

Submit Your Blood – I can fully see the mosh pit – hell I’m making one right here. The pace just doesn’t let up, another fine track. Love the tempo, it’s one hell of a hook – and keeps entrancing right throughout. Mellow chewy bit in the middle, back in the headbang zone. Cool outro 40ish secs out, raw and beasty.

The Black Death – AAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGHaAahahahahahaa! Bloody hell! Didn’t see that coming ... now that’s an intro.

Order of the Dragon – nice power riff to hook you in, an almost fairytale (somehow) vocal break – into regimented and brutal rhythm and singing axes.

Return to Scars – I really like the riff in this track, so delicate and insistent. Very nice. It’s got a real nice feel all over, I like that you can concentrate on each instrument and hear some amazing things happening every single time, it’s entrancing. Hypnotic and enticing chorus, more tweaky gax, outro tumbles slowly from heavy banging action ... fade. Nice.

Seizure – a feeling of an immense pit ... bam, brutal riff hook to the face. Epic work from the rhythm section – those drums! Damn thems some gorilla arms. Dimebag squeal – nice.

Godless World – tasty melodic riff to this one. Another great headbanging track.

The Pain – progressive and measured beat get things moving. Big, toothy and heavy – just how I like em. Mellowish lull 60 secs out screams right back into full pace just in time roll into the outro.

Seperatist – nice angry song to finish things off ... rapid beat and aggressive gax lead after a relatively gentle beginning. The last three words make me laugh every time.

An appropriate end to an album composed for the most part by cool stories of conquest and epic tales of rage ... intense in just about every way.

See you in Valhalla,
CEOMong
To The Death
View Track Listing
 

About Sinate

Sinate formed in June 2005, by September that same year they had recorded and released their debut album 'Beyond Human'. Following up with a number of shows in October and a 7 date tour of New Zealand in November. After more shows during December, a 17 date tour of New Zealand followed throughout January, February, and March of 2006.

Then it was off to Sweden to record their 2nd album, 'Violent Ambitions', with World renowned producer 'Pelle Saether'. Upon their return Sinate kept playing shows throughout the country including 'The Metal Day Out' which hosted 18 bands, both International and Local. Australia was next for Sinate, playing at Brisbane's popular 'Hellfest'. Yet another tour of New Zealand followed, this time with Brisbane based band State Of Integrity.

Along came 2007 and the Main Stage at the Big Day Out. A 23 date tour of New Zealand in support of 'Violent Ambitions' was next for Sinate, this tour included playing with 4 International giants, 'Suffocation', 'God Forbid', 'Mastodon', and the almighty 'SLAYER'. After a short break Sinate headed off on their 'Attacked From Within' Tour” which was kicked off opening up for Motorhead and finished by opening for Polish band Behemoth. 2008 will see Sinate playing at the Mammoth Metal fest, the renowned Audience with the Devil, the V8 SuperGig in Hamilton and the Brutalfest in Brisbane, Australia. Also in the works, a nation wide tour of NZ and also some dates in Aussie to coincide with the Brutalfest.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sinate

Releases

To The Death
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Violent Ambitions
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Beyond Human
Year: 2005
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
The House Of Capricorn - In The Devil's Days Album Review
28 Nov 2011 // by CEOMong
At first I didn’t know what to say about the newest offering from the cloven hoofed ones, but the more I listen the more I have to say. I really like it, I’m not 100% sure why, there’s lots to like but nothing I can nail down ...
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem