21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Concord Dawn - The Race to Zero EP Review

28 Jul 2011 // A review by sidvicious

The Race to Zero EP is only the second release since Concord Dawn’s two became one in 2008. But within the first few seconds of the opening track 1925, it’s pretty apparent that The Enemy Within was no fluke. Matt Harvey is undoubtedly strong enough of a producer to carry the Concord Dawn legacy proudly on his shoulders for as long as he damn well pleases.

1925 is satisfyingly upbeat and by a happy coincidence, that’s exactly how I like my Concord Dawn. You get the strong sense that the track was produced with a huge smile on Harvey’s face, and that excited glee is contagious. With what sounds like tweaked Mario Brothers beeps and boops sampled throughout, the beat bestows the listener with the audio equivalent of jumping up and down on a magic mushroom until money falls out.

With such an exciting opening track, the EP then makes a heart-altering turn for the ethereal. The second track, Hindsight featuring the vocal talent of Nina McSweeney, is arguably the highlight of the EP. The combination of McSweeney’s seductive voice and the perfect rollercoaster of bass and breaks travelling alongside her give the track a multi-faceted quality; the perfect song to lax or max to.

Samba Impossibleoffers that varying edge that can often be overlooked when it comes to drum and bass. It’s inconsistent and jarring but in the very best way, and although there are some sounds in there which I distinctly recognise (see:  Mission Impossible) the song still manages to maintain an electrifying freshness.

Although the EP is only five tracks longs, each song is so rich and so perfectly placed, that the album feels distinctly complete. The Race to Zero is a journey in all aspects of the genre, from drum to bass and everything in between, and Harvey has proven once again why he is one of New Zealand’s most celebrated producers.

 

About Concord Dawn

Concord Dawn began life as Evan Short & Matt Harvey, bursting onto the New Zealand music scene back in mid 1999 with their unique high octane Drum and Bass sound. They were the darlings of the local bNet/Student Radio stations up and down New Zealand, getting hefty primetime airplay, featuring at the top of the weekly Top Ten's and breaking chart records across the bNet. After a year or so of underground success they were courted by local electronic music label Kog Transmissions and released their first album Concord Dawn in July 2000.

After touring the album throughout New Zealand they released their second album Disturbance in April 2001 and received Best Electronic Album and Best Independent Release at the 2001 bNet Music Awards. Both Concord Dawn and Disturbance sold far better than expected and the boys received strong reviews in all forms of media not only for their releases but also for their energetic live performances. For the next year they went into hiatus to refine the Concord Dawn sound further with Evan heading to London for 5 months to immerse himself in the culture of the Drum and Bass homeland. Upon his return to New Zealand work was started on their 3rd album Uprising with tracks like Morning Light and Don't Tell Me finding international acclaim well before the album's release. Uprising was released in New Zealand in September 2003 and reached gold sales status in an amazing 3 months.

With Concord Dawn now well established internationally and their catalogue now being distributed worldwide Evan and Matt embarked on a seemingly never ending world tour, travelling all over the United States, Canada, Europe, Asia and Australia. At the 2003 bNet music awards Morning Light won Best Song and Most Radio Play and at the 2004 bNet music awards Uprising received Best Album and Best Electronic Release. Concord Dawn were also nominated for Best Electronic Act at the 2004 New Zealand music awards but narrowly missed out to Salmonella Dub.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Concord Dawn

Releases

Numbers Will Kill Us All
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Air Chrysalis
Year: 2012
Type: Album
The Race To Zero
Year: 2011
Type: EP
The Enemy Within
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Chaos By Design
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Uprising
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Disturbance
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Concord Dawn
Year: 2000
Type: Album

Other Reviews By sidvicious

Shapeshifter - Live at the Forum, Melbourne - 29/10/2011
01 Nov 2011 // by sidvicious
Shapeshifter represents New Zealand to me – festivals, trips to the Coromandel with friends, New Years, Big Day Out, beaches and beer. Hearing Bring Change can, in an instant, remind me of everything I love and miss about New Zealand; they’ve been the soundtrack to years and years worth of summers.
Read More...
F In Math - Couch EP Review
30 Jun 2011 // by sidvicious
Funk isn’t a term one would typically associated with music born of drum machines and synthesizers. But that’s the first word that came to mind after the opening minute of the opening track of F in Math’s first recorded album, Couch EP.
Read More...
Mali Mali - Brotherly EP Review
31 May 2011 // by sidvicious
Mali Mali is a relatively new Auckland-based three-piece headed by self-described singer/songwriter Ben Tolich. After parting with his band early last year, Tolich decided to focus on music with a rawer, more authentic sound.
Read More...
Michelle Nadia - 'Firefly' Album Review
17 May 2011 // by sidvicious
Michelle Nadia is a singer/songwriter who has been writing and performing music both in New Zealand and overseas for many years. Accompanying her extensive nationwide tour is her long-awaited debut album Firefly.
Read More...
Computers Want Me Dead EP Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
Electro-synth pop is one of my favourite genres of music and it’s refreshing to see kiwi kids experimenting with it. Computers Want Me Dead, like Kids of 88 and The Naked and Famous, are part of that group of young New Zealanders who are proving that we can make synthpop just as catchy and fun as our British and Germanic counterparts.
Read More...
Shapeshifter - System Remix Album Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
There’s no debating that Shapeshifter are one of New Zealand’s most successful musical exports, and it’s not hard to see why. Shapeshifter are quite simply phenomenal and because they’ve proven it to me so many times before, I’m always expecting amazing things with the release of any new singles, albums or live tours.
Read More...
State Of Mind - Nil By Ear Album Review
07 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
I’m not nearly any sort of ‘bass-head’ by any stretch of the imagination, but State of Mind have proven to me once again why I rate them as one of my favourite New Zealand groups. Their new album Nil By Ear is up there with one of the best drum and bass albums to come out of New Zealand, and when you’re among such talent as Shapeshifter and Six60, that’s a pretty impressive accomplishment.
Read More...
Crash-Test For Favourite Things - The Powers That Be EP Release Party - March 19 @ Juice Bar, Parnell
24 Mar 2011 // by sidvicious
So after having the pleasure of reviewing Crash Test for Favourite Things’ brand spanking EP The Powers That Be, they invited me along to their EP release party on Saturday night at Juice Bar in Parnell. Like I said, before I reviewed the EP, I’d never even heard of Auckland four-piece Crash Test for Favourite Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By sidvicious

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem