4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

F In Math - Couch EP Review

30 Jun 2011 // A review by sidvicious

Funk isn’t a term one would typically associated with music born of drum machines and synthesizers. But that’s the first word that came to mind after the opening minute of the opening track of F in Math’s first recorded album, Couch EP. The EP kicks off with the title track Couch, and if you can imagine what it would sound like if robots made jazz music, you’re getting warm. But it works. It’s funky and it’s catchy and it’s something that you can shake your hips to, which automatically moves it outside of your typical hipper-than-thou electro pop genre.

Highlights on the album include the third track, Fish of Pre-History, which has already become a fixture on my favourite iPod playlist, and is what I would describe as ‘a soundtrack to swag to’. Aether Teens is another one of my stand-out tracks; it’s a bit psychedelic, a bit enchanting and will undoubtedly make you dance, whether you want to or not. There are a few minutes here and there that I don’t absolutely adore, particularly in the track Elephant Heart. But even through taste barriers, I can still appreciate the creativity flowing through every sequence.

F in Math’s first EP is a long time coming. The solo project of Michael Logie (of The Mint Chicks fame) originally started in the late nineties when he began experimenting with synths and drum machines. All these years later, and Logie has officially recorded some high quality tracks. And I can’t mention the album without throwing some kudos at the cover art by Tane Williams. Unfortunately, I only have a limited number of words, so I’ll just say that it’s pretty damn amazing.

I was actually somewhat familiar with F in Math before the release of Couch EP. Some of my friends are extremely into SoundCloud (as I suppose we all should be) and through word-of-Facebook, I’d heard F in Math’s reimagining of some of the most epic Beatles songs, namely Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. Unfortunately, that amazing ‘LSD’ cover isn’t on the EP, but it’s definitely worth a trip to SoundCloud for a listen.

I’ve never been lucky enough to bear witness to this myself, but I can safely assume that F in Math would put on a pretty exciting and diverse live show. And lucky for us, they’re actually doing a bit of a nationwide tour with The Adults throughout July, so if you have the opportunity, go and experience yet another amazing New Zealand talent for yourself.

 

About F In Math

F in Math is a solo project of Michael Logie (Cosmic Rays of Death and ex Mint Chicks bass player).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for F In Math

Releases

Couch
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By sidvicious

Shapeshifter - Live at the Forum, Melbourne - 29/10/2011
01 Nov 2011 // by sidvicious
Shapeshifter represents New Zealand to me – festivals, trips to the Coromandel with friends, New Years, Big Day Out, beaches and beer. Hearing Bring Change can, in an instant, remind me of everything I love and miss about New Zealand; they’ve been the soundtrack to years and years worth of summers.
Read More...
Concord Dawn - The Race to Zero EP Review
28 Jul 2011 // by sidvicious
The Race to Zero EP is only the second release since Concord Dawn’s two became one in 2008. But within the first few seconds of the opening track 1925, it’s pretty apparent that The Enemy Within was no fluke.
Read More...
Mali Mali - Brotherly EP Review
31 May 2011 // by sidvicious
Mali Mali is a relatively new Auckland-based three-piece headed by self-described singer/songwriter Ben Tolich. After parting with his band early last year, Tolich decided to focus on music with a rawer, more authentic sound.
Read More...
Michelle Nadia - 'Firefly' Album Review
17 May 2011 // by sidvicious
Michelle Nadia is a singer/songwriter who has been writing and performing music both in New Zealand and overseas for many years. Accompanying her extensive nationwide tour is her long-awaited debut album Firefly.
Read More...
Computers Want Me Dead EP Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
Electro-synth pop is one of my favourite genres of music and it’s refreshing to see kiwi kids experimenting with it. Computers Want Me Dead, like Kids of 88 and The Naked and Famous, are part of that group of young New Zealanders who are proving that we can make synthpop just as catchy and fun as our British and Germanic counterparts.
Read More...
Shapeshifter - System Remix Album Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
There’s no debating that Shapeshifter are one of New Zealand’s most successful musical exports, and it’s not hard to see why. Shapeshifter are quite simply phenomenal and because they’ve proven it to me so many times before, I’m always expecting amazing things with the release of any new singles, albums or live tours.
Read More...
State Of Mind - Nil By Ear Album Review
07 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
I’m not nearly any sort of ‘bass-head’ by any stretch of the imagination, but State of Mind have proven to me once again why I rate them as one of my favourite New Zealand groups. Their new album Nil By Ear is up there with one of the best drum and bass albums to come out of New Zealand, and when you’re among such talent as Shapeshifter and Six60, that’s a pretty impressive accomplishment.
Read More...
Crash-Test For Favourite Things - The Powers That Be EP Release Party - March 19 @ Juice Bar, Parnell
24 Mar 2011 // by sidvicious
So after having the pleasure of reviewing Crash Test for Favourite Things’ brand spanking EP The Powers That Be, they invited me along to their EP release party on Saturday night at Juice Bar in Parnell. Like I said, before I reviewed the EP, I’d never even heard of Auckland four-piece Crash Test for Favourite Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By sidvicious

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem