27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mali Mali - Brotherly EP Review

31 May 2011 // A review by sidvicious

Mali Mali is a relatively new Auckland-based three-piece headed by self-described singer/songwriter Ben Tolich. After parting with his band early last year, Tolich decided to focus on music with a rawer, more authentic sound. He has since teamed up with bandmates Joel Greatbatch and Peter Reid to bring his vision alive. The release of their sophomore EP Brotherly proves that not only do Mali Mali encompass everything that Tolich initially envisioned for his musical direction, but that the boys have copious amounts of talent and the obvious potential to take Mali Mali as far as they dare.

Tolich counts Bon Iver (who, incidentally, happen to be personal heroes of mine) amongst his inspirations, and their persuasion throughout the EP is transparent, from vocal styling to instrumental composition. The production of the album is decidedly rough, but the style perfectly accompanies the intentionally unrefined sound of both Tolich’s seductive vocals and the rough-and-tumble nature of the instruments.

The vocals of the opening track Your Glowing Skin are charming in that they seem to be fighting between an obvious British influence, and the Kiwi roots that Tolich cannot or will not shake. The highlight of the album for me is the second track Roman’s Hawk. The song embodies just the right mix of defeat, triumph, sensitivity and recklessness to be beautiful.

The lyrics throughout the entire EP hark back to the emotionally charged post-punk days of the late 1970’s with lines like “you were so much nicer when your heart was broken/when your heart was torn apart”.  Despite the fact that a lot of Mali Mali’s musical influences are evident in every breath and every strum, there is something very fresh and prototypical in their music as well. Their seemingly innate talent of taking what they love from others and making it their own is to be respected just as much as their musical talent itself.

 

About Mali Mali

After parting ways with his original band in early 2010, Auckland based singer/songwriter Ben Tolich found new freedom in building songs and sounds on his own with an uninhibited state of mind. This impulse to create music with an honest and authentic mood grew alongside influence from artists such as The National, Sigur Rós and Bon Iver.

As a live band Mali Mali perform as a three-piece, not taking conventional roles and allowing members Joel Greatbatch and Peter Reid in whatever instrument they take their hands to, resulting in a minimal but lush sound.

Recorded and produced by David Parker at Little Monster studios and crafted with the help of fellow musicians Peter Reid, Andrew Madjar and Alex Freer (Artisan Guns), 'Brotherly' (Mali Mali's second EP) delivers stripped back and direct songs against a backdrop of contrasting atmosphere. Its subtle, slow burning and beautiful melodies colour your imagination with instinctive sensitivity, using hints and lures more than punches or shouts, to lasting effect.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mali Mali

Releases

I Was Told To Keep An Eye Out
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Azimuth
Year: 2018
Type: Album
As A Dog Dreams
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Gather 'Round The Gooseclock
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Brotherly
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By sidvicious

Shapeshifter - Live at the Forum, Melbourne - 29/10/2011
01 Nov 2011 // by sidvicious
Shapeshifter represents New Zealand to me – festivals, trips to the Coromandel with friends, New Years, Big Day Out, beaches and beer. Hearing Bring Change can, in an instant, remind me of everything I love and miss about New Zealand; they’ve been the soundtrack to years and years worth of summers.
Read More...
Concord Dawn - The Race to Zero EP Review
28 Jul 2011 // by sidvicious
The Race to Zero EP is only the second release since Concord Dawn’s two became one in 2008. But within the first few seconds of the opening track 1925, it’s pretty apparent that The Enemy Within was no fluke.
Read More...
F In Math - Couch EP Review
30 Jun 2011 // by sidvicious
Funk isn’t a term one would typically associated with music born of drum machines and synthesizers. But that’s the first word that came to mind after the opening minute of the opening track of F in Math’s first recorded album, Couch EP.
Read More...
Michelle Nadia - 'Firefly' Album Review
17 May 2011 // by sidvicious
Michelle Nadia is a singer/songwriter who has been writing and performing music both in New Zealand and overseas for many years. Accompanying her extensive nationwide tour is her long-awaited debut album Firefly.
Read More...
Computers Want Me Dead EP Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
Electro-synth pop is one of my favourite genres of music and it’s refreshing to see kiwi kids experimenting with it. Computers Want Me Dead, like Kids of 88 and The Naked and Famous, are part of that group of young New Zealanders who are proving that we can make synthpop just as catchy and fun as our British and Germanic counterparts.
Read More...
Shapeshifter - System Remix Album Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
There’s no debating that Shapeshifter are one of New Zealand’s most successful musical exports, and it’s not hard to see why. Shapeshifter are quite simply phenomenal and because they’ve proven it to me so many times before, I’m always expecting amazing things with the release of any new singles, albums or live tours.
Read More...
State Of Mind - Nil By Ear Album Review
07 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
I’m not nearly any sort of ‘bass-head’ by any stretch of the imagination, but State of Mind have proven to me once again why I rate them as one of my favourite New Zealand groups. Their new album Nil By Ear is up there with one of the best drum and bass albums to come out of New Zealand, and when you’re among such talent as Shapeshifter and Six60, that’s a pretty impressive accomplishment.
Read More...
Crash-Test For Favourite Things - The Powers That Be EP Release Party - March 19 @ Juice Bar, Parnell
24 Mar 2011 // by sidvicious
So after having the pleasure of reviewing Crash Test for Favourite Things’ brand spanking EP The Powers That Be, they invited me along to their EP release party on Saturday night at Juice Bar in Parnell. Like I said, before I reviewed the EP, I’d never even heard of Auckland four-piece Crash Test for Favourite Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By sidvicious

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem