13 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michelle Nadia - 'Firefly' Album Review

17 May 2011 // A review by sidvicious

Michelle Nadia is a singer/songwriter who has been writing and performing music both in New Zealand and overseas for many years. Accompanying her extensive nationwide tour is her long-awaited debut album Firefly. Upon researching the album, I discovered that not only is it produced by New Zealand music heavyweight Nic Manders, but Nadia’s studio band includes amazing musicians like Bruce Lynch and Andy Lynch, who, between them, have worked with everyone from Kate Bush to The Feelers.  And Michelle Nadia successfully matches and, at times exceeds, the enormous talent she’s lucky enough to count in her company.

The title track Firefly is one of the highlights on the album, possibly because I’m always a sucker for a simple, cutesy song. With lyrics like ‘lightning bug, don’t cry/can’t you see that you’re a firefly’, it’s hard to claim it is a song filled with lyrical genius and astounding metaphors, but it is one of those songs that has the power to make you smile in spite of yourself.

Perhaps contradictorily, the other stand-out song for me is Stars. This second track is unique compared with many singer/songwriter types that I’m used to listening to, in that it is very rich in instrumental layers. Instead of drowning out her vocal talent which it had the potential to do, the instrumental power actually enhances the strength of her voice. In fact, many of the songs are instrumentally loaded; it is not uncommon to hear organs, harmonicas and a huge array of string instruments accompanying Nadia's endearing vocals.

I definitely liked some of the tracks a lot more than I liked others but that inevitability just comes down to personal preference. In fact, that there is such a variety of sound on this album that can polarize my opinions, while at the same time allowing me to appreciate each song for what it is, is a reflection of Nadia’s versatility as an artist.

Throughout Firefly there are tiny snatches of a more country-folk influenced vocal sound that seems to hint at a possibly unexplored vocal depth. The tone really suits Nadia’s voice and I would be really interested in hearing more of a country-folk influence on future releases.

 

About Michelle Nadia

New Zealand songstress Michelle Nadia has been writing and performing her songs since the age of 18. She has played for audiences up and down her own country as well as further a field in London, Los Angeles, New York, Dublin and Sydney where she majored in vocals at the Australian Institute of Music.

Michelle's song 'Stars' has received radio play in New Zealand and has been used on Air New Zealand's in flight entertainment. Her 'Stars' video plays on Juice TV and she has also made television appearances on TVNZ's Good Morning and Juice TV's 'Live at the Wintergarden'.

Michelle has recently finished recording her debut album 'Firefly' with producer Nic Manders at Bruce Lynch's Boat Shed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michelle Nadia

Releases

Firefly
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By sidvicious

Shapeshifter - Live at the Forum, Melbourne - 29/10/2011
01 Nov 2011 // by sidvicious
Shapeshifter represents New Zealand to me – festivals, trips to the Coromandel with friends, New Years, Big Day Out, beaches and beer. Hearing Bring Change can, in an instant, remind me of everything I love and miss about New Zealand; they’ve been the soundtrack to years and years worth of summers.
Read More...
Concord Dawn - The Race to Zero EP Review
28 Jul 2011 // by sidvicious
The Race to Zero EP is only the second release since Concord Dawn’s two became one in 2008. But within the first few seconds of the opening track 1925, it’s pretty apparent that The Enemy Within was no fluke.
Read More...
F In Math - Couch EP Review
30 Jun 2011 // by sidvicious
Funk isn’t a term one would typically associated with music born of drum machines and synthesizers. But that’s the first word that came to mind after the opening minute of the opening track of F in Math’s first recorded album, Couch EP.
Read More...
Mali Mali - Brotherly EP Review
31 May 2011 // by sidvicious
Mali Mali is a relatively new Auckland-based three-piece headed by self-described singer/songwriter Ben Tolich. After parting with his band early last year, Tolich decided to focus on music with a rawer, more authentic sound.
Read More...
Computers Want Me Dead EP Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
Electro-synth pop is one of my favourite genres of music and it’s refreshing to see kiwi kids experimenting with it. Computers Want Me Dead, like Kids of 88 and The Naked and Famous, are part of that group of young New Zealanders who are proving that we can make synthpop just as catchy and fun as our British and Germanic counterparts.
Read More...
Shapeshifter - System Remix Album Review
08 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
There’s no debating that Shapeshifter are one of New Zealand’s most successful musical exports, and it’s not hard to see why. Shapeshifter are quite simply phenomenal and because they’ve proven it to me so many times before, I’m always expecting amazing things with the release of any new singles, albums or live tours.
Read More...
State Of Mind - Nil By Ear Album Review
07 Apr 2011 // by sidvicious
I’m not nearly any sort of ‘bass-head’ by any stretch of the imagination, but State of Mind have proven to me once again why I rate them as one of my favourite New Zealand groups. Their new album Nil By Ear is up there with one of the best drum and bass albums to come out of New Zealand, and when you’re among such talent as Shapeshifter and Six60, that’s a pretty impressive accomplishment.
Read More...
Crash-Test For Favourite Things - The Powers That Be EP Release Party - March 19 @ Juice Bar, Parnell
24 Mar 2011 // by sidvicious
So after having the pleasure of reviewing Crash Test for Favourite Things’ brand spanking EP The Powers That Be, they invited me along to their EP release party on Saturday night at Juice Bar in Parnell. Like I said, before I reviewed the EP, I’d never even heard of Auckland four-piece Crash Test for Favourite Things.
Read More...
View All Articles By sidvicious

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem