24 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review

05 Jul 2010 // A review by Bela

I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.

The opening song 'City Limits' (track 5 on the EP is the radio version of this song) starts this EP off with high energy. I do prefer this version to track 5, but the song is great no matter which version you prefer. The guitar riffs and drums really drive the rhythm hard, it's impossible to listen and not find yourself bobbing your head or tapping your feet.

Second on the album is 'Neon Sunrise' which will be instantly familiar to those who watch C4. Loving the drum beat in this song, the energy again is high and thoroughly captivating. I love how the ending of the song is almost gentle as the music softly drops away, in direct contrast to the energy throughout the song.

'Let It Go' is a more mellow song to begin with, but soon kicks into the energetic tones that are already distinctive for I Am Giant. It's a successful mix of calm and peppy, and probably my favourite song on the EP as a result.  

Track 4 'Living the Crash' yet another great song. What really stands out for me in this song is how well the vocals and the music work together. It's attention grabbing, in the best way.

After listening to this EP I am now hoping that I Am Giant are going to be treating us here in New Zealand to their own tour. I think these guys would put on an absolutely stellar live show if they sound even half as good live as they do on the EP. The energy they'd bring to a show would be worth going for that alone, but you'd get the added bonus of some pretty amazing music as well.

 

About I Am Giant

With an impressive 70,000+ loyal fans on Facebook and over 1,000 international members of their ‘IAG Army’, I Am Giant have amassed a huge worldwide following with four #1 rock singles and a certified gold album in New Zealand, music videos featuring skate and surfing icons Tony Hawk and Kelly Slater, opening for Slash in Australia, a UK tour with Taking Back Sunday, performances at Big Day Out in Auckland and Sydney, opening for Stone Temple Pilots in Singapore, touring throughout Asia several times, and playing the prestigious Viper Room and Mercury Lounge in the US.

Their debut album The Horrifying Truth, was recorded with acclaimed producer Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Dead Letter Circus, The Butterfly Effect). I Am Giant bound together what they describe as “a collection of stories, thoughts, observations and exploration” into a cohesive and hard-hitting explosion of sound and melody. From the first song Purple Heart to closer After The War, the sharp lyrical themes draw the listener into the band’s growing awareness of mortality and loss of innocence. The Horrifying Truth is pure, unadulterated rock, with its heart on its sleeve and an unquenchable fire in its soul.

October 2012 saw I Am Giant release The Horrifying Truth in the UK and Europe, where their single Purple Heart won support on BBC Radio One as Zane Lowe's ‘Next Hype’ , XFM, Kerrang! Radio and Q Radio as well as hitting the No 1 spot on Polish Radio Eska Rock.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for I Am Giant

Releases

Life In Captivity
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Science & Survival
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Horrifying Truth
Year: 2011
Type: Album
City Limits/Neon Sunrise
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review
13 Oct 2010 // by Bela
So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.
Read More...
Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review
12 Sep 2010 // by Bela
With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.
Read More...
The Grove St Tapes EP Review
23 May 2010 // by Bela
I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4.
Read More...
Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review
16 Mar 2010 // by Bela
This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.
Read More...
Green Like Go - self titled EP review
23 Feb 2010 // by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09
15 Dec 2009 // by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me. It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • ANTISOCIAL
    Ed Sheeran feat. Travis Scott
  • REMEMBER THE NAME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Eminem And 50 Cent
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem