9 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Grove St Tapes EP Review

23 May 2010 // A review by Bela

I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4. They remind me of Sublime, which is only ever a compliment in my eyes, and would make the perfect summer soundtrack for that roadtrip to the beach, BBQ etc.

From the opening notes of the first song Terror Firma this album had me won over. The music is polished, smooth and oh so listenable. Toe tapping, feel good vibes will have you captivated which carries over into What Goes Around without missing a beat.

Jealousy has darker lyrics but equally as good as the first 2 songs. The brass in this song is hauntingly beautiful and continues the up tempo rhythm of the song flawlessly. Wrapping up the album is Up In Arms which leads with a completely different sound to the other 3 songs. Opening with piano, soft and tender, then launching into the feel good vibe that I can't help but associate with this band. This is my favourite song of the album, only because this is the one that I have found myself humming at work, out walking, and during other random events in my day. Once in your head, it won't leave in a hurry.

To sum it up, one listen of this EP will not be enough. It's been permanently in my CD player and for good measure on my ipod as well. I am on a mission to hunt out whatever else the band have recorded because if it's even half as good as this album, it will be worth adding to any CD collection. If you haven't heard this guys before, trust me, you are missing out.

 

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review
13 Oct 2010 // by Bela
So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.
Read More...
Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review
12 Sep 2010 // by Bela
With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.
Read More...
I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review
05 Jul 2010 // by Bela
I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.
Read More...
Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review
16 Mar 2010 // by Bela
This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.
Read More...
Green Like Go - self titled EP review
23 Feb 2010 // by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09
15 Dec 2009 // by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me. It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem