10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Green Like Go - Green Like Go - self titled EP review

23 Feb 2010 // A review by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.

The first track 'Fat Man' I could envision being a much requested fan favourite. It is catchy and distinctive with solid beats.

The second track 'You Came Around' sounds like it belongs on a soundtrack for a New Zealand TV show. Outrageous Fortune and Go Girls both spring to mind. The song is fun, light hearted and melodic. It makes me think of a Kiwi summer.

Thirdly we have 'The Other Way' which has a Brit Pop sound, it reminds me of Supergrass with the melody and the catchy lyrics.

Last song on the EP is called 'To Me Now' which is energetic and a different vibe from the previous 2 songs. The song is more driving and forceful, and when it ended left me with a real sense of wanting more.

Overall, the group is definitely one to be watching. I think if they get a chance to break into the mainstream, that the rest of New Zealand will embrace them just like their home town of Christchurch.
 

About Green Like Go

Green Like Go are 5 lads from Christchurch who play 80's influenced indie pop.

Starting in early 2009, with numerous gigs around town and a 3rd placing the in UCSA Battle of the Bands, Green Like Go are quickly forging a name for themselves.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Green Like Go

Releases

Green Like Go
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review
13 Oct 2010 // by Bela
So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.
Read More...
Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review
12 Sep 2010 // by Bela
With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.
Read More...
I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review
05 Jul 2010 // by Bela
I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.
Read More...
The Grove St Tapes EP Review
23 May 2010 // by Bela
I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4.
Read More...
Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review
16 Mar 2010 // by Bela
This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09
15 Dec 2009 // by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me. It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem