22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Fly My Pretties - Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09

Fly My Pretties - Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09

15 Dec 2009 // A review by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me.

It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.30pm, this didn’t actually happen until 8.12pm. The show itself started at 8.35pm – having made up some ground there as it was supposed to start at 8pm.

However, as soon as Dick Weir began to speak, all petty annoyances and quibbles about this faded away as his voice led us on the path of a magical journey. The story carried powerful themes about protecting the natural world around us, and how easy it is for the careless and the thoughtless to have devastating impact on the planet we all share.

The music wove around the story, each song carrying the theme of that particular segment. Highlights for me had to be Anna Coddington, her song Beat Repeat was toe tapping and one to remember. I also enjoyed Tessa Rain’s Mauri, and of course the classic Heavy Weather by Barnaby Weir, this song had a real Black Seeds vibe about it.
But by far the stand out song of the performance had to be Angels. The haunting beauty of all the performers voices in a cappella sent a shiver down my spine, and noticeably brought a tear to the eye of some of the listeners.

The second set of the performance, a set of both old and new Fly My Pretties material, although pleasing to many of the crowd I felt would have been better suited to the first half as it just did not hold my interest after the beauty of the story. I am however, a confirmed Kora fan thanks to the appearance of Laughton Kora. The song he led, Freak Of Nature, was easily the stand out of the second set, and his stage presence was such that every time he was on the stage, it was very hard to notice anyone else.

I would highly recommend if buying this, to buy the recorded DVD performance rather than the CD itself. The entire experience, from set to costumes to performance, to the stellar narration, is a journey worth repeating.
 

About Fly My Pretties

Fly My Pretties are New Zealand's favourite live collaborative group starring a selection of the country’s finest contemporary musicians, all set to a visual backdrop.

Since its inception, Fly My Pretties has grown to become a local legend of music that continues to reach people all over the world. Fly My Pretties first entered New Zealanders’ hearts and minds in 2004, with the idea from The Black Seeds front-man Barnaby Weir and Mikee Tucker (Loop), to assemble a talented and exciting group of Wellington-based musicians for a special project.

The objective: To meet, exchange ideas, and then perform and record the results in front of a live audience. Fly My Pretties performed their first season at Wellington’s Bats Theatre over five nights. It was a hit, and Fly My Pretties became Bats most attended event of 2004. Likewise, the album Fly My Pretties - Live at Bats achieved platinum-status, received 6 B-Net nominations (winning Best Pop Album), and was released internationally in the UK.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fly My Pretties

Releases

The Studio Recordings Part 2
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Studio Recordings Part 1
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
String Theory (The Complete Show)
Year: 2017
Type: Album
String Theory
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Homeland Recordings
Year: 2013
Type: Album
IV
Year: 2012
Type: Album
A Story
Year: 2009
Type: Album
The Return Of Fly My Pretties
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Live At Bats
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review
13 Oct 2010 // by Bela
So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.
Read More...
Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review
12 Sep 2010 // by Bela
With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.
Read More...
I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review
05 Jul 2010 // by Bela
I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.
Read More...
The Grove St Tapes EP Review
23 May 2010 // by Bela
I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4.
Read More...
Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review
16 Mar 2010 // by Bela
This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.
Read More...
Green Like Go - self titled EP review
23 Feb 2010 // by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem