8 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The House Of Capricorn - 'Sign of the Cloven Hoof' album review

29 Mar 2010 // A review by CEOMong

As a Capricorn myself, I was intrigued by what the album had to offer. What I discovered was enchanting intros and beasty hooks; heavy, gothically bluesy, bootstomping, headbanging, good old-fashioned stoner metal.

I heard elements of a bunch of wicked wicked bands’ influences from right across the rock spectrum, right from pop rock to death metal - consequently a real nice sound ensues, one that can only improve as time progresses. These guys would be sweet live, no matter how loud I cranked the stereo it still didn’t seem loud enough.

Wicked sweet background drinking and/or driving music, the tempo is regular and solid, with enough staunch catchy peaks to grab your attention and make you go “wreargh!? allfacknright”. Real nice hooks, love the deep body-felt bass throughout.

Track 1 – Aurora Funeralis: melodramatic, ponderous. Sets the atmos quite nicely. Long enough to wonder if it’s just a really long intro.

Track 2 – Crowned & Drained: Long power chugs and heartfelt drumming hook, slow and steady rhythm. Heavy heavy bass gets the old boots going.

Track 3 – A Devilish Manifesto: mellow intro rocks out into wicked hook. Faster tempo gets the head going with the boots. Nice.

Track 4 – Archways: more deep strummage, really gets the blood fizzing. Cool trippy vox in the chorus, sneaky gax enhances.

Track 5 – Old Redhook: cool intro, another catchy chorus – rock on the air gax.

Track 6 – A Candle for the Morning Star: a real nice track, one that took a couple listens to really get, but definitely one of my favourites. A nice balance between every member, just enough and not too much – and yet all had their piece. Nicely done.

Track 7 – Hymn: Just over a minute long instrumental – smoko time.

Track 8 – Sol: Nice rollicking hook intro, strong rhythms. Rocked out the air gax a couple times even.

Track 9 – The Inveterate: power blues intro, another real sweet headbanging, bootstomping tune.

Track 10 – Lord of Light and Pride: tweaky intro, ebbs and flows like a blood-red tide. A bit slower paced, yet still upbeat.

Track 11 – Under Southern Skies: heavy power chugs, a dark and ancestral feel.

Track 12 – Claws of Fog: epic and enchanting, rocking out into a full mosh-ready tune. Wicked.

Track 13 – Awakening to Shining Light: an epic epic epic way to end a staunch album like this, a cool intro and another solid riff brings the album to a close.

Bleeeeeeat!
CEOMong

 

About The House Of Capricorn

The House of Capricorn is a rock band from the fog below One Tree Hill, formed in 2001.

Their debut album 'Sign of the Cloven Hoof' was released in March 2010.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The House Of Capricorn

Releases

Morning Star Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
In The Devil's Days
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Sign of the Cloven Hoof
Year: 2010
Type: Album
The Rivers And The Rain
Year: 2006
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem