2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tempo 38 - EP Review - Septic Proof

09 Oct 2008 // A review by CEOMong
A well-balanced EP full of tight refrains and solid measured riffs, a staunch album chock-full of punk flavour. I was sold on the first track, each track further cementing the awesomeness.

The title track, Septic Proof, is a very punk tune with a solid rhythm, promising a lot for the rest of the album. Sneaky hook upfront catches you unawares.

With only 6 tracks this album is way too short, made up for with a really big sound that reminds me of the best bits of many other wicked bands. Epic, catchy, often quirky intros on all tracks, sets the pace and carries through with in-your-face passion.

Flashpoint (track 3), is my favourite by far, an epic anthem with a grand intro, rolling into some heavier stuff. Kick-ass passionate lyrics & solid chorus spin-kick you in the head.

Watch out for Tempo 38 in a town near you, no doubt they go off live, and if this album is anything to go by, then a full offering will be something extra special.

I’m off for a shot.
CEOMong
 

About Tempo 38

Tempo 38 ‘infamous hard-edge/punk band from Hawkes Bay’ have been doing it the hard way since 2000. The band incorporates driving upbeat music with an energetic live show.

‘The Temps’ have released 3 EP's, a split CD with Australian hardcore band Provoke, and have tracks featured on numerous compilation CD’s (released in New Zealand, Australia, Germany and the UK). Tempo 38 have played with many bands from N.Y.C hardcore legends Shutdown to Californian pop-punk band The Ataris to Aussie punk legends Hard-Ons to NZ’s own the Bleeders, the band have embarked on two Headlining tours of their home-country and hit the road on a regular basis for one off festivals and shows.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tempo 38

Releases

Septic Proof
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Con
Year: 2004
Type: EP
Break With Reality
Year: 2002
Type: EP
Our World Today
Year: 2001
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem