21 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Take The Willing - Take The Willing – Fight Music

26 Aug 2007 // A review by CEOMong
I’ve had mixed up jumbles of songs with names like “I’ll Kill Everyone At This Party” & “At This Moment In Time I’m Popular With A Lot Of Drunk People” stuck in my head for two weeks now, just kicking round in there. Take The Willing are that kind of band.

Their debut album starts strong with I’ll Kill Everyone At This Party, an aggressive power metal anthem. Engaging and strong start to the album. I want to hear this on the radio every time I turn it on. Nice flow onto At This Moment In Time I’m Popular With A Lot Of Drunk People, a little slower to start, but worth the wait. Eyes Closed gives a nice instant hit which recaptures your lobes with some tricky vocal effects, a rousing song with solid, simple riffs.

The Letter follows, a comfortable and steady headbanging tune. Steeped in Ambition, a distinct and well-balanced tune, segues nicely into More Of A Man, which continues the theme strongly, and features some emphatic vocals. Nightmares And Neckwounds is an awesome track with some variations that kept me involved the length of the track. Did You Know Your Daughter follows, a song packed full of regret and pain.

Vox Sucia picks the pace back up with another fight song, very catchy and accelerates the pace of the album another notch. Nice flows through the song, which continues into Friends They Come And Go nicely. The final instrumental track – Black And Red - gives me a better-than-megadeth-on-crack feel, achieving an eerily suspenseful intro which draws out into sweet axe solos, all wrapped up in some electronica. Good for me.

Overall, Fight Music has a solid theme and attentive clean mixing, a beautiful recording that plays nicely as background music, and even better when rocking out. Take The Willing are an awesome band, I feel the CD doesn’t quite do them justice, despite well-rounded sound engineering. Solid riffs, catchy tunes, and fascinating sound samples thrown in makes this album one you can listen to over and over and still get something new out of it.

CEO Mong.
 

About Take The Willing

Take the Willing are a hard-hitting metal/hardcore band hailing from Tauranga. The band formed in the beginning of 2006, and have completed tours with Blindspott, Bleeders and Full Nelson.

The band is quickly gaining a reputation up and down the country for their aggressive sound and captivating live set.

Take the Willing are a band you don’t want to mess with!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Take The Willing

Releases

Fight Music
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem