14 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Quarter 2 - Quarter 2 - Awapuni Tavern, Palmerston North - 26 May

30 May 2006 // A review by Shade
After a long and highly anticipated wait Quarter 2 took to the stage - and it was definitely worth the wait. From the very start Quarter 2 rocked up a storm and took NZ ska punk to the extreme.

We first saw Quarter 2 play live at our 5th Birthday gig in Auckland and I was so amazed by their musical ability I would've written a review for them then if I wasn't so busy with sorting things out at the gig. After being so impressed with their performance in Auckland, I had to see them when they made their way to Palmerston North. This time their music was a little bit more refined and it was noticeable how much practise had gone into each song.

This gig showed what Quarter 2 is capable of - not only was it their third gig for the day (with two further gigs planned for the following day) but it was also Dean's 21st Birthday (which was celebrated with quite a few drinks which resulted in a very drunk Dean), however all the members of Quarter 2 still played a great set and had the audience captivated by their awesome music.

The most outstanding part of Quarter 2's performance was how the band worked so well together. They created a great atmosphere by adding humour to the mix and each band member supported and looked out for the next. It was evident that they have all built strong friendships with each other. It is these strong friendships that will ensure Quarter 2 will go far with their musical careers.

Gig Highlight: Quarter 2's cover of Pacifier - this song was performed brilliantly and it was great to see Quarter 2 show they weren't afraid to do a cover of such a well known NZ song. This was the best cover I had heard of Pacifier and Quarter 2 could just about give Shihad a run for their money.

Favourite Song: Aside from their Pacifier cover, Beer Bellies was my personal favourite song for the night

Pics: Click here for the gallery.
 

About Quarter 2

Quarter 2 are an alternative, high energy, punk rock band hailing from the North Shore in Auckland. They bring all that is extreme and laid back from their every day lives and form those events into catchy, get up and go tunes that won't be easily forgotten.

Formed in 2002, Quarter 2 have since released two singles, 'Beer Bellies' that was mixed and produced by Hook from 48May stardom, with the accompanying video directed by Mark Summerville from Zoomslide. In late October 2006 Quarter 2 released their second single 'Did We Have To' that was also mixed and produced by Hook from 48May with the video being directed by the Independent Film Company.

Quarter 2 have gone on numerous tours around the North and South Island of New Zealand. They are well known in the R18 sector of shows and are forever growing their all ages fan base. The band have also had the opportunity to open the Main Stage of 'Rockstar' Taste of Chaos' for the New Zealand leg of the tour in 2006, sharing the stage with big acts such as Taking Back Sunday, Underoath, Anti-Flag, Thursday and Senses Fail. They have also shared the stage with local acts such as The Mint Chicks, Steriogram, 48May, Mumsdollar, Goodnight Nurse, False Start, the Bleeders, Elemeno P, Falter, The WBC, Streetwise Scarlet and many more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Quarter 2

Releases

Taking Arson To New Heights
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Maggie Cocco's Science for Sociopaths - Gig Review: Maggie Cocco @ Lopdell Theatre, Tititrangi - 22/11/2023
27 Nov 2023 // by Shade
Whatever came out of the pandemic, it stranded some amazing talent here long enough for them to enrich our musical world. Down into the Lopdell labyrinth, a buzz of age-spanning expectancy waited for two of these: Maggie Cocco and her accompanist for the tour Bonnie Schwarz who would add much more than just ‘sad cello’ to tonight’s epic cycle of piano songs.
Read More...
Eve Kelly @ Jam Factory, Tauranga - 03/03/2023
08 Mar 2023 // by Shade
The ‘Sold Out’ sign is a good sign and it went up several days before Eve Kelly’s first show at The Jam Factory in Tauranga’s Historic Village. Whakatane-based Eve Kelly is a star on-the-rise and she put on a show that left her audience, old and new, elated and begging for more.
Read More...
Banks Arcade - Album Review: Future Lovers
28 Jul 2022 // by Shade
For the last 23 years I've been completely immersed in New Zealand music, soaked through to my inner core. I've been living it, breathing it and drinking it in.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem