3 Feb 2023

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Pluto began life near the end of the 20th century as a duo in London, England, and over the next few years morphed into a fully fledged band whilst recording their first album in Auckland, New Zealand. They signed to indie label Antenna and released Red Light Syndrome to critical acclaim in 2001.

Pluto's first appearance with the full lineup was opening for Neil Finn in 2001. It was a gig that brought them out of the shadows and one they initially turned down due to being double booked. Tim recalls, “I got a call from Neil’s tour manager asking if we wanted to open for him at the Hastings Opera House. I turned them down as we had a tiny little gig in Auckland booked already. I called Milan to tell him the bad news and he gently asked me “wtf did you do that for?” I called back and we took the gig. Mike Hall had just joined a few days prior. The band was complete. We were on our way.”

After signing to major label EMI, Pluto released their second album, Pipeline Under the Ocean (2005), achieving double platinum on the RIANZ albums chart and with lead single Long White Cross won the 2006 Tui award for Best Song. Single Dance Stamina took out the B-net award for best song.

The band toured extensively throughout New Zealand, Australia and the UK and were twice invited to play at the SXSW festival in Austin, Texas.

In 2007 Pluto re-entered the studio, this time recording their 3rd album Sunken Water at Neil Finn’s newly constructed Roundhead studios, where they were the first band to do so. It would be their final album for EMI.

Work began on their fourth album to be released on their own record label. The first single Snake Charmer was released in 2009. Plans were made. Just to keep things interesting the band broke up before the album was completed, the hard drive crashed and the sessions were all thought to be lost.

Fast forward a decade: Sparked by the discovery of a back-up session of the lost album, it was agreed by all that the record should be finished. The resulting album IV was released through their own company 5 Moon Entertainment Ltd. in November 2019, with the first single Oh My Lonely receiving significant radio play.

Band Members:
Michael Franklin-Browne (drums)
Mike Hall (bass, vocals)
Milan Borich (lead vocals, guitar)
Tim Arnold (vocals, guitar)
Matthias Jordan (keyboards, vocals)






  • Auckland

Best Chart Placings

Image Galleries

Reviews / Interviews

Comments (Newest First)

muzic.net.nz Admin

Joined: 17/07/02
Posts: 5075
Location: Manawatu
View Profile
New single for Pluto
Posted: Wed Sep 2, 2009 3:42 pm

'Snake Charmer' is the first single from the forthcoming Pluto album.

It is also a mark of celebration as the band embark on their journey as a completely independent band.


Pluto have formed their own record label, Slow Rodriguez Records, built their own recording studio, The Wall, and incorporated their own graphic design suite all topped off with a green screen studio for music video shoots!

Says Tim Arnold “The world of music has changed. It’s not about massive album budgets anymore. You have to find a different way of working. We’ve taken back the control of our band. We make everything ourselves now, like we used to. It’s liberating, and the music reflects that. It’s a lot more fun.”

In keeping with the DIY aesthetic, the band recorded 'Snake Charmer' at The Wall Studios, where their next album will also be produced. The release of 'Snake Charmer' will be ushered in with their first music video from The Wall that was made with the help of talented director Florian Habicht (Woodenhead, Kaikohe Demolition).

Having spent the best part of a year setting up their studio and their label, the band are champing at the bit to focus on the music again.

The 'Snake Charmer' release will be followed by some long awaited live appearances, with the album scheduled for release in early 2010.

Pluto are:

· Milan Borich (lead vocals, guitar)
· Tim Arnold (guitar, vocals)
· Matthias Jordan (keyboards, vocals)
· Mike Hall (bass, vocals)
· Michael Franklin-Browne (drums)


Joined: 29/01/06
Posts: 1
Location: Waikato
View Profile
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:30 pm
welcome to 2006 and it seems nobody else uses this website to see pluto but i love dem so much!!!! if u share my love for pluto den email me [email protected]!! rock on milan is hott but his wife/or soon to be is a wicked actress, so go them!!! yeah add me to msn.

muzic.net.nz Admin

Joined: 17/07/02
Posts: 5075
Location: Manawatu
View Profile
Pluto - Watch The Video
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:59 am
Thanks to EMI for the following:

Pluto are packing their kit bags and venturing forth, extending an invitation to the UK to get a taste of Kiwi. Pluto are a band’s band. Articulate renegades with attitude and something to say and their new album, “Pipeline Under the Ocean,” is complex, unique and different from anything else around. While stopping over in London for a show on the way home from SXSW last year, this is Pluto’s first full scale ground assault on UK music lovers.

2005 has been filled with many highlights for the Auckland 5 piece including a 2nd invitation to SXSW in Austin Texas, the release of their 2nd album in NZ, 2 consecutive #1 songs at alternative radio, 2 NZ tours and headlining the recent bNet awards where they took away song of the year for “Dance Stamina”. Check out the song and video here. Previously the band has supported the likes of Muse, Gomez, The Dandy Warhols and Neil Finn.

muzic.net.nz Admin

Joined: 17/07/02
Posts: 5075
Location: Manawatu
View Profile
Pluto Nominated For Squeeze People Choice Awards
Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 4:29 pm
Pluto have received the following nominations in the Squeeze People Choice Awards:

* Best Band/Artist

* Best Music Videos (Bananas In The Mist)


muzic.net.nz Admin

Joined: 17/07/02
Posts: 5075
Location: Manawatu
View Profile
Pluto Nominated For B.Net Awards!
Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 4:13 pm
Pluto have received the following nominations in the 2002 B.Net Music Awards:

* Best Pop/Rock Release (Red Light Syndrome)


Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Miley Cyrus
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
    Taylor Swift
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem