3 Apr 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Just Another June - EP Review: Mo(u)rning

16 Dec 2022 // A review by Madeleine Howard

Otautahi quartet Just Another June released their debut EP Mo(u)rning on December 7th, 2023.

Just Another June are singer songwriter Luna Cubillana, vocalist and guitarist Sam Keelty, bassist Austin Standeven and drummer Amy Claire. The quartet have been working hard establishing themselves in the Christchurch music scene, performing alongside local musicians including Jed Parsons, BEXY and Goodwill to name a few. The hard work has paid off, with their debut being a solid collection of beautiful songs. 

We begin with lead single Driving, my personal favourite. The track begins with a catchy guitar riff and smooth drums, and straight away you can visualise driving along with the windows down, perhaps on a rainy day. I kept coming back to this one, there's something about the guitars and drums makes this a stand out track. 

Other stand out tracks include the dreamy Your Sin and Doesn't Make You Less of a Man, a heartbreaking yet hopeful song with an important message about men's mental health. "When you let someone in, doesn't make you less of a man," Cubillana croons. Clean Break is six minutes of musical bliss and the perfect conclusion to the EP. Each track is stellar in its own right, but the stand outs are when Cubillana and Keelty come together with their luscious harmonies. 

I'm blown away by the music itself. Intricate guitar melodies, complex chords and technical drums are the perfect accompaniment to Cubillana's thoughtful lyrics. It's clear this group of musician's know their stuff. 

Production is strong for the most part, with the music itself being at the forefront of these tracks. The vocals however get a little bit lost in amongst the noise, it would be great for them to be really showcased a little more. 

Overall, Mo(u)rning is a beautifully crafted collection of indie pop songs. It's clear Just Another June are clever, talented musicians with a bright future. Sadly, the band are parting ways in the new year with some members moving overseas, but they have promised more music will be released in the coming year. I look forward to seeing what's next for Just Another June. 

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Just Another June

Just Another June are a 4-piece indie band from Otautahi, New Zealand. The band consists of frontwoman Luna Cubillana and frontman Samuel Keelty, Amy Boden on drums, and Austin Standeven on bass. Their music blurs the lines between folk, pop, rock, melancholy, bliss, and bops. You have to see it to believe it. XO




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Just Another June

Releases

There are no releases to display for Just Another June.

Other Reviews By Madeleine Howard

Valere - Single/Video Review: Stuck In My Head
29 Mar 2023 // by Madeleine Howard
Otautahi bedroom pop artist Valere released her latest single Stuck in My Head on the 16th of March.An International Songwriting Competition semi-finalist and APRA Songhubs Sphere alum, Valere's debut album Colours, released in 2020, gained her air play on ZM, Base FM and Spotify playlists such as The Local List NZ.
Read More...
Eve Kelly - Single Review: Mr Big Shot
10 Mar 2023 // by Madeleine Howard
Whakatane based singer-songwriter (Eve Kelly) released her single Mr Big Shot on February 24th.Following on from her previous singles Gotta Let Go and Dance With Me, both released in the final months of 2022, Mr Big Shot adds another layer to this up and coming artist's repertoire, proving that Eve has a talent for writing songs that are a blend of genres, including funk, RnB, gospel, and adult contemporary.
Read More...
Shivers - Single Review: Under My Skin
13 Dec 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Wellington based band Shivers released their latest single Under My Skin on the 8th of November. Formed in 2018, Shivers consists of vocalist Timmy Porter, multi-instrumentalist Adrian Win and drummer Rick Cranson.
Read More...
Loveta - EP Review: More Than Fun
29 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
0Otautahi based pop artist Loveta launched her debut EP More Than Fun on November 18th. The EP is a collaboration with musician Wulfie (Tim Heeringa) and made with support from NZ On Air's Development Fund.
Read More...
Ant Utama - Single Review: Biding My Time
10 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Pop artist Ant Utama releases his new single Biding My Time today, Friday 11th November. The Kiwi born, now German based artist has enjoyed success with the release of his debut EP Brave in 2020, clocking over 300,000 streams.
Read More...
Molly Devine - EP Review: Still Here
03 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otepoti musician Molly Devine releases her new EP Still Here today, on November 4th.The three track EP is a collection of thoughtful and powerful songs that tell the story of Devine's experience with dating app Bumble.
Read More...
Roonie - Single Review: The Way It Should Be
13 Oct 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Pop artist Roonie releases her new single The Way It Should Be today, Friday 14th October 2022. Taupo raised, Christchurch based Roonie is Michaela Pointon, who burst onto the scene in 2020 with the release of her debut single My Heart.
Read More...
Goodwill - EP Review: Incontrol
07 Sep 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otautahi musician Goodwill released his debut EP Incontrol on the 19th of August. The solo project of musician Will McGillivray, formerly of successful Kiwi band nomad, Incontrol is the result of six years of work in Will’s home studio in Christchurch.
Read More...
View All Articles By Madeleine Howard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • DIE FOR YOU (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • LAST NIGHT
    Morgan Wallen
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • CALM DOWN
    Rema And Selena Gomez
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem