17 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Valere - Single/Video Review: Stuck In My Head

29 Mar 2023 // A review by madeleinehoward

Otautahi bedroom pop artist Valere released her latest single Stuck in My Head on the 16th of March.

An International Songwriting Competition semi-finalist and APRA Songhubs Sphere alum, Valere's debut album Colours, released in 2020, gained her air play on ZM, Base FM and Spotify playlists such as The Local List NZ.

The second single from her upcoming EP, Stuck In My Head is "an ode to long distance AND going the distance," Valere says. The nostalgic track is reminiscent of the music you’d hear in an early 2000’s rom-com and, as the title suggests, it certainly did get stuck in my head.

Coming in at just under three minutes, Stuck In My Head is by no means too short. A tiny package of pop goodness, the track is simple yet addictive, with catchy melodies and an infectious chorus. The simple verse chorus structure leaves plenty of room for Valere to show off her vocal range, with verses sung in her lower register and a chorus in her falsetto, accompanied by lush harmonies. Quite often with pop songs, the verses can be far less memorable than a chorus, but this is not the case at all with this track, as I found myself humming along long after I had finished listening.

The track is accompanied by a retro-feel video filmed by her husband at her auntie's home in Cebu, Philippines, showcasing her vibrant heritage. Valere sings into an old telephone, in various states of yearning. The video is sweet and cute, the perfect accompaniment to the song.

Valere is gearing up to release her next body of work later this year. If the remaining tracks are as strong as Stuck In My Head, we are in for a treat.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Valere

Valere is Otautahi based songwriter and producer Shana Graham whose intricate rhythms, rich melodies and new wave sounds mesh into music that’s ‘kinetic, yet warmly intimate’ (NZ Musician Magazine). An APRA Songhubs Sphere alum and International Songwriting Competition semi-finalist, Valere’s debut album colours garnered spots on ZM, BaseFM and various Spotify playlists including The Local List NZ. A recent signee to Enemy Love Records, Valere is gearing up to release her fourth project early next year with new singles even sooner.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Valere

Releases

Colours
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Blue
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Weary Eyes
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By madeleinehoward

Steffany Beck - EP Review: Pillars
11 Apr 2024 // by madeleinehoward
Otautahi based country pop singer-songwriter Steffany Beck is back with her EP Pillars, out today, 12th April, 2024. Her latest body of work since 2019’s Blue Eyed Girl, Beck has spent the last few years working hard, honing her craft and making waves in the Christchurch music scene.
Read More...
Speech Act Theory - EP Review: Speech Act Theory
18 Oct 2023 // by madeleinehoward
Auckland based alt-electronica project Speech Act Theory released their debut self-titled EP on the 29th of September. Founded in 2019, Speech Act Theory is the brain child of multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer Pete Hickman.
Read More...
James Constable - Album Review: Interesting Times
20 Jul 2023 // by madeleinehoward
Otautahi indie singer-songwriter James Constable released his second album Interesting Times on the 16th of June. This ten track album follows on from the 19 years old’s debut Tui, which I had the pleasure of reviewing when it was released in 2021.
Read More...
Citris iNK - Single Review: Last Night Replay
27 Jun 2023 // by madeleinehoward
RnB, Neo-soul duo Citris iNK released their second single Last Night Replay on the 9th of June.The duo comprises of Auckland born multi-instrumentalist Nick Taylor and South African singer-songwriter Kristin Paulse.
Read More...
The Flow Collective - Single Review: Final Whistle
25 May 2023 // by madeleinehoward
Whanganui based band The Flow Collective launch their latest single Final Whistle today, Friday 26th May. The group released their debut album Flow last year, a collection of compositions by lead vocalist and pianist Elizabeth de Vegt, with lyrics taken from the poems of Airini Beautrais' collection Flow: Whanganui River Poems.
Read More...
Phoebe Vic - EP Review: Strange Rituals
05 May 2023 // by madeleinehoward
Otautahi pop artist Phoebe Vic launches her EP Strange Rituals today, 5th May. The follow up project to her 2015 EP Hunter, Strange Rituals sees Phoebe Vic come into her own with a quartet of highly polished electro pop tunes.
Read More...
tei. - Single Review: Primal
02 May 2023 // by madeleinehoward
Tamaki Makaurau alternative RnB artist tei. released her new single Primal on the 21st of April.
Read More...
Eve Kelly - Single Review: Mr Big Shot
10 Mar 2023 // by madeleinehoward
Whakatane based singer-songwriter (Eve Kelly) released her single Mr Big Shot on February 24th.Following on from her previous singles Gotta Let Go and Dance With Me, both released in the final months of 2022, Mr Big Shot adds another layer to this up and coming artist's repertoire, proving that Eve has a talent for writing songs that are a blend of genres, including funk, RnB, gospel, and adult contemporary.
Read More...
View All Articles By madeleinehoward

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem