5 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Planet Hunter - Single Review: Humans of the Wild

15 Sep 2022 // A review by Adrian Drew
Humans of the Wild is the first single from Wellington rock band, Planet Hunter, off their upcoming album Moscovium. I profess to not having heard of Planet Hunter before, they are self-described as having a small but dedicated following in Wellington's heavy rock scene. So, I first dived into their 2019 EP release for comparison, it's pretty sweet, with Celestial Tongue the standout. Let's crack on then!

Wicked heavy start to the song and definitely a step up in production from their last outing. Instantly I know that I'm Planet Hunter's target audience, Soundgarden, Alice In Chains, Stone Temple Pilots - with grungey, fuzzed out bass and gats, nice!

Vocals are really cool, I love a bit of lo-fi distortion, akin to Chris Cornell/Layne Staley/Kurt Cobain/Maynard James Keenan, all fkn' awesome frontpeople. There's a great tempo change mid-track with increased speed and then opens right up to really soar with a vocal roar. The interplay with guitar and screaming vox works excellently, now I'm getting those Tool vibes.

There's all the right noise when the band cranks up the pace, an ominous rumbling and yet it's still very melodic. There's a simple but effective down scale to regroup and reset to the original time signature, very powerful, and I bet these lads smash it on the live stage.

For me, the drums feel a little far back in the distance, but then I did crank volume on the studio speakers more than usual, so perhaps the whole track could do with some oomph.

Planet Hunter have definitely given us a strong offering for their first single. Humans of the Wild is a heavy, riff laden, raw and energetic beast of a song... I'm hungry for more!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Planet Hunter

Planet Hunter came together in early 2017. After a year and a half of creating their own unique form of riff-fuelled rock, the band finally named themselves on the auspicious date of April 19. On the very same day, the Planet Hunter Satellite was launched into outer space.

It seemed appropriate; the satellite will search for new alien worlds throughout the cosmos, and the band will do the same.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Planet Hunter

Releases

Moscovium
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Planet Hunter
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Racing - Album Review: Must Be The Moon
26 Oct 2022 // by Adrian Drew
Must Be The Moon is the sophomore album from electro-rockers Racing. Boasting the talented line up of Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen (The Checks), Daniel Barrett (Sherpa) and Izaak Houston (Space Creeps), it's not surprising that the band have achieved some notable success.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: The Blessed Ghost
15 Jul 2022 // by Adrian Drew
Wellington Rockers Voodoo Bloo have released their second album The Blessed Ghost. This sophomore album follows on from the 2020 debut Jacobus.
Read More...
Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge
18 Mar 2022 // by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP
18 Nov 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin).
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem