17 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Adrian Drew

Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin). Neverwoz is the brainchild of Peter Baillie, with a collaborative band of talented people who have helped turn these ideas into songs.

The first few bars of the opening track has a Santana/Jethro Tull vibe before becoming more upbeat than a 3 day folk festival. I can see why they have played plenty of festivals, this is exactly what I'd expect to see/hear at the local council day in the park. I'm there on my rug, cool beverage, fancy cheese, tapping away and enjoying the vibe.

Peter mentions his American Blues influence and second track Katie Heard Me Talking definitely has that swampy blues feel. But not far away is that reedy lead line, more akin to Randy Newman than Jethro Tull. I can't help but think this might've been better left off the record, or replaced with guitar. Just my thoughts.

There's no denying the musicianship all over this record, it sounds like an all-star band bringing these songs to life. The bass works is incredible, highlighted on songs such as Flirt and You'll Never Walk This Town Again... some serious phat funky groove! Also the drumming throughout is on point every time, never too busy, but heavy enough in just the right places.

The stand out track I Nearly Had You is a gorgeous introspective delight. From the opening clean guitar (has a bit of Th' Dudes feel to it) and haunting, catchy bass hook, I was all ears open. The song builds nicely to bring in all the players, as Peter's vocal desperation starts to climb. I especially loved the Doorsy keyboard break and the final screaming realisation that "I've got nothing at all". Top song this!

The Elysian EP concludes with a musical psych trance-out of Donald Trump vox samples (did I also hear Kate Bush??) on the final track Wannabe American. This is Neverwoz's freeform freak-out protest song, an instrumental and aural carnival of noise. I may need a cuddle buddy tonight (retreats to the corner, knees tight, slowly rocking... back and forth... back and forth... back and forth).

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Neverwoz

Neverwoz combines funk, soul, rock, blues, folk, country, hip-hop, psychedelia and pop to make a truly original sound. Their debut album Minor Words and Major Thirds is due for release soon.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Neverwoz

Releases

The Elysian
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Minor Words and Major Thirds
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge
18 Mar 2022 // by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
Cut Off Your Hands - Album Review: HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs)
19 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Cut Off Your Hands long awaited third and final album HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs) is exactly that; full of highs and lows. Throughout the listen, I found myself wanting to both; hate and love somebody for everything this album is about.
Read More...
Your Indigo - Single Review: Higher
01 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Christchurch based alt-pop band Your Indigo  have released their new single Higher. After releasing their debut EP December 2019, Your Indigo explores new ideas with Higher, wrapping their 'rich tapestry' of sound around a pulsating kick drum in this thought-provoking club track.
Read More...
Saurian - Album Review: Brooding
04 Aug 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Dunedin-based band Saurian have been playing live gigs for five years, so it is terrific to see them now release their debut album Brooding. With a mixture of older and more recent songs, Brooding is a true labour of love, with the band recording, producing and mastering it themselves.
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem