27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge

18 Mar 2022 // A review by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.


Having previously played together under a different moniker, Crystalator describe themselves as the product of years of learning, growth and finding a distinctive, creative voice. On my first listen through, I think they may well have achieved that.

Sludge has a synthed out start that chops into raucous guitars, which made for a very nice surprise and a good start. I adore a great drop of all instruments, perhaps just a lead line ringing out, and this song has a great drop before the verse and vocals kick in. Instantly I notice how well the track has been produced. They have a real mix of metal, hard rock and 90's rock going on, I could hear a bunch of influences... some favourites of mine too!

I really dig the layered vocals, makes for a big sound which is exactly what this band is all about. Guitars left and right, there's a chunk to the sound that I like. Dave's drumming is killer, I found myself listening to him drive this tune.

Then I get to the bridge, which is an acid trip of weirdness that I hoped was going somewhere huge. It's a kind of Pixies/Sonic Youth full noise affair that didn't quite fit for me, perhaps I was just hoping for a ripping guitar solo? Then we're back into that hooky chorus, I'm singing along, because Crystalator are smart enough to put the lyrics in their press kit, bonus points. It's very well produced, did I mention that? It's got a cool fuzzed out bass, highlighted as the last remaining instrument at the end of the track.

Suddenly, it's over before it started (under 3min), I love that, it means it's driving all the way and I wanna hit repeat. Straight out the gate with a song like this for their debut, very strong start. I had to check out the live version of this song on YouTube, you should do the same. I can't wait to hear what's next from Auckland's new up and coming rockers, Crystalator.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Crystalator

Crystalator is an Auckland based rock outfit influenced by a heavy dose of 90’s rock, modern metal and everything in-between. The sound is a balance of hard hitting drums, fuzzy grunge-tinged bass and delay laden guitars rounded out by dynamic vocals. This culminates in a powerful unique blend of sound that is truly their own.

Having previously played together under a different moniker, Crystalator is the product of years of learning, growth and finding a distinctive, creative voice. March sees the band release their debut single Sludge.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crystalator

Releases

There are no releases to display for Crystalator.

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP
18 Nov 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin).
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
Cut Off Your Hands - Album Review: HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs)
19 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Cut Off Your Hands long awaited third and final album HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs) is exactly that; full of highs and lows. Throughout the listen, I found myself wanting to both; hate and love somebody for everything this album is about.
Read More...
Your Indigo - Single Review: Higher
01 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Christchurch based alt-pop band Your Indigo  have released their new single Higher. After releasing their debut EP December 2019, Your Indigo explores new ideas with Higher, wrapping their 'rich tapestry' of sound around a pulsating kick drum in this thought-provoking club track.
Read More...
Saurian - Album Review: Brooding
04 Aug 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Dunedin-based band Saurian have been playing live gigs for five years, so it is terrific to see them now release their debut album Brooding. With a mixture of older and more recent songs, Brooding is a true labour of love, with the band recording, producing and mastering it themselves.
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem