8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge

18 Mar 2022 // A review by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.


Having previously played together under a different moniker, Crystalator describe themselves as the product of years of learning, growth and finding a distinctive, creative voice. On my first listen through, I think they may well have achieved that.

Sludge has a synthed out start that chops into raucous guitars, which made for a very nice surprise and a good start. I adore a great drop of all instruments, perhaps just a lead line ringing out, and this song has a great drop before the verse and vocals kick in. Instantly I notice how well the track has been produced. They have a real mix of metal, hard rock and 90's rock going on, I could hear a bunch of influences... some favourites of mine too!

I really dig the layered vocals, makes for a big sound which is exactly what this band is all about. Guitars left and right, there's a chunk to the sound that I like. Dave's drumming is killer, I found myself listening to him drive this tune.

Then I get to the bridge, which is an acid trip of weirdness that I hoped was going somewhere huge. It's a kind of Pixies/Sonic Youth full noise affair that didn't quite fit for me, perhaps I was just hoping for a ripping guitar solo? Then we're back into that hooky chorus, I'm singing along, because Crystalator are smart enough to put the lyrics in their press kit, bonus points. It's very well produced, did I mention that? It's got a cool fuzzed out bass, highlighted as the last remaining instrument at the end of the track.

Suddenly, it's over before it started (under 3min), I love that, it means it's driving all the way and I wanna hit repeat. Straight out the gate with a song like this for their debut, very strong start. I had to check out the live version of this song on YouTube, you should do the same. I can't wait to hear what's next from Auckland's new up and coming rockers, Crystalator.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Crystalator

Crystalator is an Auckland based rock outfit influenced by a heavy dose of 90’s rock, modern metal and everything in-between. The sound is a balance of hard hitting drums, fuzzy grunge-tinged bass and delay laden guitars rounded out by dynamic vocals. This culminates in a powerful unique blend of sound that is truly their own.

Having previously played together under a different moniker, Crystalator is the product of years of learning, growth and finding a distinctive, creative voice. March sees the band release their debut single Sludge.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crystalator

Releases

There are no releases to display for Crystalator.

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Racing - Album Review: Must Be The Moon
26 Oct 2022 // by Adrian Drew
Must Be The Moon is the sophomore album from electro-rockers Racing. Boasting the talented line up of Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen (The Checks), Daniel Barrett (Sherpa) and Izaak Houston (Space Creeps), it's not surprising that the band have achieved some notable success.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Single Review: Humans of the Wild
15 Sep 2022 // by Adrian Drew
Humans of the Wild is the first single from Wellington rock band, Planet Hunter, off their upcoming album Moscovium. I profess to not having heard of Planet Hunter before, they are self-described as having a small but dedicated following in Wellington's heavy rock scene.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: The Blessed Ghost
15 Jul 2022 // by Adrian Drew
Wellington Rockers Voodoo Bloo have released their second album The Blessed Ghost. This sophomore album follows on from the 2020 debut Jacobus.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP
18 Nov 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin).
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem