26 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man

18 Feb 2022 // A review by Paul Goddard

I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.

Forget your Tutti Fruity, Screwball, Flake, sugar/chocolate coated kiddie magnets. Pure and simple swirling goodness in a cone is where it's at.

Saurian clearly understand the joy of a simple swirling tune with their latest single burying its way into my mind as if I had stuck my ear under the Ice Cream Man's dispenser thingy and let it all ooze in. The brain freeze kicks in pretty swiftly as well with vocals driving a lyric that just refuses to not dig its heels in.

It just keeps going and flowing.

Like those tunes blurted out by Ice Cream vans all over the world, that drone that makes little kids run into roads oblivious to traffic that could squash them at any point, Saurian have created a blast that is so primal you can't ignore or forget it.

Fuck knows what the song is about, but like my favourite Vanilla Whip, who really cares why something so simple and satisfying exists. It just does and makes me want more.

Like all good things in life, it is all over too soon but the aftertaste lingers long. I am walking home with this noise buried in my psyche and I can hear it over and over again like it is calling to me. I look around and here comes the Ice Cream truck.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Saurian

Saurian is an alternative rock band from Dunedin, New Zealand consisting of guitarist/vocalist, Karl Brinsdon; drummer, Hamish Daniell; and guitarist, Cameron Ellis.

A jam session in August 2015 formed the band which then went on to create its own distinctive sound. After suggestions for band names like ‘reptiles’ or ‘lizards’, an online search came across ‘Saurian’ meaning “lizard-like”.

Saurian’s music appeals to a wide audience, possibly due to musical influences through the decades from the 60's until now. Band members channel their passion and energy into their song-writing, creating songs in styles from soft rock through to metal and we take pride in our diversity. Some of the band’s musical influences include Nirvana, The Beatles, Foo Fighters, Guns n Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Soundgarden.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Saurian

Releases

Brooding
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem