6 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Older - Album Review: HUMAN+

31 Oct 2021 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Waikato based British producer Jel Legg and Kiwi singer Julie Legg are Post Punk band Older. Following on from their debut album Silence (2019) is their anticipated second album HUMAN+, which is due for release 1st November 2021. Described as a “hard-edged, up front album drawing on multiple genres, with the resultant sound unlike any other in New Zealand,” HUMAN+ is a well-constructed collection of 12 original songs, leaving you interested with sublimely creative ideas.


It was amid a global pandemic that a clarity surrounding direction of their second album was achieved. The lyrics were yet to be written and the focus of HUMAN+ changed from the twelve stages of a breakdown to gipping subject matter including the struggle against gender and sexual oppression. The pair began to reflect the beauty of the hidden human condition, in particular polyamory and pansexuality resulting in powerful lyrical storytelling.


The first track Sunday Morning launches into HUMAN+ with an energetic Post Punk sound that grabs your attention, this sound evolves throughout the album, bringing in New Age sounding synth, lush guitar and vocals reminiscent of Debbie Harry which just get stronger on each track.

Subsequent tracks Talkback, Coffee and Maybe deliver a dynamic and catchy sound mixed with sublimely creative musical storytelling. A punch to your senses. Human slows the pace down slightly, building up in a gutsy crescendo and down again, like a wave of expertly mixed sound and vocals. It’s at this point in the album you begin to really appreciate the synergetic sound that Older deliver. Perhaps your latest addiction.

The glorious offering of Switch delivers a clean drum mix with no vocals and full lush guitar. Powerful.

I have long admired the song writing and sound that Older create, it’s got a raw energetic vibe combined with wonderfully constructed words that don't pull any punches. On HUMAN+ they also offer a taste of their diversity when it comes to mixing different tracks. The next song, Underground was a good example and a standout for me. A reggae ska infused track which includes vocals from both Jel and Julie. This is a real attention getter which wouldn't be out of place on an early Kaiser Chiefs album. Fast paced, energetic, sonically staccato delivery.

Throughout the album there is loads of lovely synth adding to the overall sound, creating another layer of depth.

Track ten, Nova turns back the clock to early Blondie. Following on from that is Diese Libertinen (Someone who lives life unencumbered by morals) this has an early Devo sound, mixed with B-52’s overlaid with Blondie vocals (Julie sounds to me, like a slightly raw version of Debbie Harry). These two tracks are shining examples of the diversity and polish which Older has created on HUMAN+.

Home provides the perfect finale, which is slower, the beauty of Julies vocals shines on this track. As the song progresses it builds up a lashing punk sound, ending with piano and strings reminiscent of Black Parade by My Chemical Romance, ending with a pure dramatic flourish. Five minutes and twenty-one seconds went by in a flash and left me wanting more. Powerful lyrics and stunning delivery.

HUMAN+ is a wonderfully creative album offering a different perspective on the world we currently live in. It is well crafted and captured my interest from the very beginning. Older are possibly my favourite Kiwi Post Punk band, and they have managed to combine multiple genres on this album which is fresh and interesting whilst still delivering a nostalgic sound.

It was well worth the wait to hear the more serious and darker sound which Older have developed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Older

Older: We produce music that is laden with antipathy for mainstream culture and is seasoned with an alternative view point wrapped up in a deceptive layer of respectability.

We champion the creative thinker and the under dog yapping in the wind. Everything we write is inspired by first-hand experience. If our art resonates with you then that's a connection that means everything to us.

In terms of genres ... we are a unique blend of the sound coming out of London & the US in the late 70's & early 80's mixed with modern production and influences. At the core? Blondie, The Damned, New Model Army, Linkin Park, Sleeper, B52s & similar. But that's more limiting than enlightening as a descriptor!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Older

Releases

HUMAN+
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Silence
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog
09 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.
Read More...
Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee
23 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem