13 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Your Indigo - Single Review: Higher

01 Oct 2020 // A review by Adrian Drew

Christchurch based alt-pop band Your Indigo  have released their new single Higher. After releasing their debut EP December 2019, Your Indigo explores new ideas with Higher, wrapping their 'rich tapestry' of sound around a pulsating kick drum in this thought-provoking club track.

Combining genres of electronic producer Josh Holmes (Junus Orca, Othersun) with folk singer/songwriters Amiria Grenell (Tui award winner) and Bryony Matthews, Your Indigo is a happy marriage that sounds like it's in for the long haul. An amalgamation of sweet vocals and pulsating beat, Higher takes you exactly where it says. It's uplifting, while earthy and rooted, beautifully rich but sparse. Higher could easily be a remix of an original pop-folk song, yet it has so much room to still be remixed and I can hear both a dirty dark DnB version as well as a full extended club mix.

Teaming up with veteran Christchurch video production company Ruff & Tumble, the music vid for Higher is right on point. I've already watched it about a dozen times and keep getting The Naked and Famous, MGMT meets Empire of the Sun vibe... go check it out on YouTube.

I'm a big fan of collaborating with musicians from different genres, pushing each other creatively and blending styles. Your Indigo have nailed it. I can't wait to hear what comes next, instant fan right here!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Your Indigo

In 2017 good friends Josh Holmes (Junus Orca, Othersun), Amiria Grenell (Tui award winner) and Bryony Matthews joined together to create Your Indigo.

Each with their own musical careers, Holmes an electronic producer, Grenell and Matthews
both folk singer-songwriters, they were all looking to create something different.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Your Indigo

Releases

Your Indigo
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: The Blessed Ghost
15 Jul 2022 // by Adrian Drew
Wellington Rockers Voodoo Bloo have released their second album The Blessed Ghost. This sophomore album follows on from the 2020 debut Jacobus.
Read More...
Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge
18 Mar 2022 // by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP
18 Nov 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin).
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
Cut Off Your Hands - Album Review: HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs)
19 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Cut Off Your Hands long awaited third and final album HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs) is exactly that; full of highs and lows. Throughout the listen, I found myself wanting to both; hate and love somebody for everything this album is about.
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem