16 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sonar.Suite - Single Review: Flip Siide

09 Sep 2020 // A review by kongfooey

Flip Siide kicks off with a lone chilled blues guitar before a sweet vocal style similar to Brittany Howard (Alabama Shakes) kicks into gear. Brendon Thomas is the mastermind behind this slippery little funk number.

With its lazy jazz/funk styles this tune has a Thundercat vibe to it. Some very tasty guitar licks going on too, I can hear the Hendrix influence coming through.

This tune has a fresh groove with a little bit of experimentation along the way. The lyrics are pretty funny too; "But why you gotta hit me on the flip side, ya got me on the whisky and the tea, I'm waiting for the moment that you hit back, cause damn it... you f**k just like a gymnast".

Flip Siide is good fun with some sweet playing to boot, my only advice would be to lose the programmed looped beats in favour of a live drummer for the next recording. Nice work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sonar.Suite

~ a fusion of Hip Hop, Neo Soul, Groove, Psychedelia, Jazz with a Sensual Aura.

The word 'Sonar' is to represent sending out waves, vibes & channeling the responses through the music .

The word 'Suite' represents the Spaceship (The Studio) ~ Luxurious, Spacious, Creative Playzone

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sonar.Suite

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sonar.Suite.

Other Reviews By kongfooey

Gig Review: Gramsci @ ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland - 16/10/2020
18 Oct 2020 // by kongfooey
The anticipation was high for this show for two reasons. One, it was the first gig out for us since Auckland was locked down for the second time this year.
Read More...
The Vibes - Single Review: Funk Blaster
20 Aug 2020 // by kongfooey
Hot of the press this latest offering from The Vibes. Funk Blaster is a tribute to James Brown and the Red Hot Chili Peppers and it's a great big slice of funky fun.
Read More...
SOJØURN - Single Review: Stand Up
20 Aug 2020 // by kongfooey
As with a lot of established and up and coming Kiwi artists, the pandemic that is Covid-19 has thrown a spanner in the works for recording, releases and live shows and SOJØURN have also been in the same boat. But here it is, the latest offering from these young Northland lads.
Read More...
Summer Thieves - EP Review: Bandaids and Lipstick
30 Jul 2020 // by kongfooey
Much like their contemporaries Six60, Summer Thieves started from humble beginnings in Dunedin many moons ago. Starting as a high school band of sorts, Jake and Johnny have been jamming together since the ripe age of 15.
Read More...
Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by kongfooey
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by kongfooey
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by kongfooey
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by kongfooey
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
View All Articles By kongfooey

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem