20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Vibes - Single Review: Funk Blaster

20 Aug 2020 // A review by Jason Peters

Hot of the press this latest offering from The VibesFunk Blaster is a tribute to James Brown and the Red Hot Chili Peppers and it's a great big slice of funky fun. I hear smatterings of Tahuna Breaks and The Meters throughout this tune as well.

I dig the raw production on this song, The Vibes have retained that jam vibe that they no doubt conjured up in the rehearsal rooms and it still has that loose fun style intact but with tight playing and without being overproduced.

Recorded at Depot Sound and mastered by Leon Zervois at Studios 301 Sydney, they have hit the nail on the head with this raw but crisp funk sound.

This tune is a fun, get off your ass and dance tune and will be a blast to hear live. One of the joys of reviewing for Muzic.net.nz is discovering new Kiwi music, and this is the first I've heard of this band hailing from the North Shore in Auckland. I'll be sure to check out their live show. And apparently, The Vibes featured on the X-Factor TV show in 2015? well clearly I missed that boat, but I'll be sure to board the next funky ship that they set sail on. The sweet funky rock vibes are strong on this one people, check it out now.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Vibes

Bohemian trio The Vibes, comprised of frontman Brendon Thomas, drummer Timothee Nolier and bassist Michael Anderson teleported from the psychadelic 60’s to our TV screens, auditioning for the sophomore season of The X Factor NZ.

The Auckland-based outfit applied for the show after the announcement of a bands category, a first in the show’s international franchise. After a barnstorming take on Hendrix’s Foxy Lady, Brendon and his stagemates earned themselves a reputation as a live highlight among the show’s top 12.

Wearing their influences (Hendrix, Zeppelin, The Beatles, The Who) on their tassled sleeves, Brendon Thomas and The Vibes made their way to the show’s grand final, putting their signature spin on every song they covered, smashing a few guitars and guiding their debut EP The Eclect to #1 on the NZ iTunes charts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Vibes

Releases

Wrap You In The Sun
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Sonar.Suite - Single Review: Flip Siide
09 Sep 2020 // by Jason Peters
Flip Siide kicks off with a lone chilled blues guitar before a sweet vocal style similar to Brittany Howard (Alabama Shakes) kicks into gear. Brendon Thomas is the mastermind behind this slippery little funk number.
Read More...
SOJØURN - Single Review: Stand Up
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
As with a lot of established and up and coming Kiwi artists, the pandemic that is Covid-19 has thrown a spanner in the works for recording, releases and live shows and SOJØURN have also been in the same boat. But here it is, the latest offering from these young Northland lads.
Read More...
Summer Thieves - EP Review: Bandaids and Lipstick
30 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Much like their contemporaries Six60, Summer Thieves started from humble beginnings in Dunedin many moons ago. Starting as a high school band of sorts, Jake and Johnny have been jamming together since the ripe age of 15.
Read More...
Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by Jason Peters
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem