10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name

16 Mar 2020 // A review by Jason Peters

The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues).

Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.

The album kicks off with The Beckoning, a church organ / industrial keyboard intro that does indeed beckon you to explore further. They Crawl opens with a gunslinger flavoured riff, I can picture this song opening a dark and twisted Tarantino or David Lynch western film. The vocals are slippery, distorted and raw and remind me of a cross between Marilyn Manson and Tom Waits. Just over the halfway mark and the song kicks into gear with tasty drums, heavy guitar licks and doomy bass runs, I feel like I need to shower after listening to this track, grimy, low down and mean, very cool.

Dead Inside starts with a sample then eases into a Portishead inspired groove but with a filthy blues underbelly attached. Tasty guitar licks and subtle keys add sweet icing to the menacing cake base. The Night kicks off with harmonica, distorted vocals and more of the western blues-tinged doom style, with Rene's cool lyrics "I'm the devil and I'm the man, I'm a rebel with simple plans" it's dripping with dark blues and this track cements the sound these guys have created.

The Crossroads is indeed the devil's blues, featuring some very tasty guitar playing by Az burns. It's a cool interlude before Funeral Pyre takes a grip, this blues/doom number slowly devolves into metal riffing whilst still retaining a heavy blues flavour and works well. Other stand out tracks are Blind and the epic 10-minute plus closing track I Am The Snake, a sprawling evil bluesy number, that's experimental, heavy and oh so delicious.

The Slider have created a sound all of their own here. I call it horror movie western blues. If quality heavy n dark doom blues is your bag then this offering will definitely spin your wheels. Nice work lads!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Slider

From Auckland, NZ, long term musical partners Rene Harvey and Az Burns (both current and previous members of His Masters Voice, Cripple Mr Onion) are proud to present The Slider.

A product of over 20 years of playing music together, The Slider began as a stripped back blues project but has turned into its own monster exploring dark doom, psychedelic, graveyard blues...

All duties were conducted by the two of them:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Slider

Releases

He Calls Your Name
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem