4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Saurian - Album Review: Brooding

04 Aug 2020 // A review by Adrian Drew

Dunedin-based band Saurian have been playing live gigs for five years, so it is terrific to see them now release their debut album Brooding. With a mixture of older and more recent songs, Brooding is a true labour of love, with the band recording, producing and mastering it themselves. This gives the album an appealing raw quality, although I believe a little more focus on production would really bring this band alive.

Citing their influences as Nirvana, Soundgarden and The Beatles, Saurian’s eclecticism is evident here in tracks with nods to heavy metal, a definite sub pop/Beach feel, while others bring to mind the Foo Fighter’s self-titled debut album. Although this variety is intriguing, I can’t help but wonder whether the band might have been better off trimming some weaker tracks in order to release an EP of the best songs. Musically, this album is very good and there’s a lot to like, but some tracks find the vocalist still finding his feet, with some songs standing out more than others. Lane Staley, Kurt Cobain and James Hetfield come to mind throughout this album. It’s the play between the light and the dark that makes them so harsh and soft at the same time. It would be amazing to hear Saurian marry that to the music.

One of the stronger tracks is Will You, a gorgeous song that brings to mind the sonically beautiful lushness of Smashing Pumpkins. With tender vocals, this song is more playful than other tracks with musical changes and nuances. Also very strong is Runaway, which gives plenty of room to the riff work and which I can only imagine goes off when played live. I also loved Tyre Tracks (In the Sky), I love it when a song ends with a lead solo… more of this please! My other favourite track is George St, which is a heavy but playful melodic rock song with a strong vocal melody. These are all excellent songs that would make a damn good EP.

Saurian have a strong following for their live gigs and this album really makes me want to hear them live. There is a rawness to their sound that I really like and their DIY ethos is commendable. If they can continue to hone their sound and work on their lyrics and hooks, then the future looks bright for Saurian.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Saurian

Saurian is an alternative rock band from Dunedin, New Zealand consisting of guitarist/vocalist, Karl Brinsdon; drummer, Hamish Daniell; and guitarist, Cameron Ellis.

A jam session in August 2015 formed the band which then went on to create its own distinctive sound. After suggestions for band names like ‘reptiles’ or ‘lizards’, an online search came across ‘Saurian’ meaning “lizard-like”.

Saurian’s music appeals to a wide audience, possibly due to musical influences through the decades from the 60's until now. Band members channel their passion and energy into their song-writing, creating songs in styles from soft rock through to metal and we take pride in our diversity. Some of the band’s musical influences include Nirvana, The Beatles, Foo Fighters, Guns n Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Soundgarden.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Saurian

Releases

Brooding
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge
18 Mar 2022 // by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP
18 Nov 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin).
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
Cut Off Your Hands - Album Review: HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs)
19 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Cut Off Your Hands long awaited third and final album HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs) is exactly that; full of highs and lows. Throughout the listen, I found myself wanting to both; hate and love somebody for everything this album is about.
Read More...
Your Indigo - Single Review: Higher
01 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Christchurch based alt-pop band Your Indigo  have released their new single Higher. After releasing their debut EP December 2019, Your Indigo explores new ideas with Higher, wrapping their 'rich tapestry' of sound around a pulsating kick drum in this thought-provoking club track.
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem