25 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shihad - Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019

04 Dec 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour. It holds up to 400 people and was built way back in 1958. Tonight is going to be special.

The tiny room is beginning to fill with mainly expat Kiwi’s and Aussies plus one very enthusiastic Shihad fan from Bath. The atmosphere is subdued but expectant and there is no support act for tonight’s gig so people are chatting while Tom and Phil mingle and help out on the merch stand. 

The fact that Shihad have added dates in tiny venues like this around the UK when they could have just played it safe with one gig in London is testament to the drive that has seen them remain a driving force in rock music for over 30 years. 

That gig in London happened last night at the Shepherds Bush Empire where the band played what Jon described as his “favourite ever Shihad gig”, in front of thousands. 

Tonight there are around 100 people.

This is going to be special. 

The band enter the tiny stage all smiles and launch straight into Think You’re So Free. The sound is amazing. This is the 30th Anniversary tour and it has the same set format I saw back at The Auckland Town Hall a few months ago. Starting with songs from the latest album FVEY, they work backwards right through to Churn.

Karl is wearing a permanent grin through his impressive beard, while Phil effortlessly blasts out those face melting riffs. Jon is Jon, simply one of the best frontmen in the world warming up the crowd with between song banter while Tom is the powerhouse driving the rhythm that already has people bouncing. 

Comfort Me results in the first main singalong of the evening and in a room this small with a crowd this size it’s impressive that their voices can be heard. 

After a beautiful version of The Brightest Star there is a big shift in gear as My Mind's Sedate sees the crowd collectively lose its shit. One of the best songs ever written it is a masterclass in what a rock song should be. The whole place is moving, and as always Shihad give everything 100%. 

The set is classic Shihad, no frills, no fills; just great rock music with plenty of attitude and fun. Jon even heads up to join a few people in the tiny balcony level looking down on the stage. My grin by now is as big as Karl’s, and every single person is dancing and smiling. 

We all know Shihad can rock an arena but seeing them tonight playing the equivalent of a local pub is special. I moved back to the UK 6 weeks ago after living in NZ for 17 years. That move back in 2003 was where I first experienced Shihad and was instantly hooked. Tonight I am homesick, tonight was emotional.

Shihad are special. They have long been New Zealand’s best kept secret, but here in this tiny venue and over the past week they have shown the UK how rock music should be played.

As the encore finishes with the pummelling Cheap As I have goosebumps and not from the icy cold British winter air.

Shihad, you were amazing as always please don’t wait another 10 years to get back over to these shores.

 

About Shihad

Picture this… 1988, Bob Hawke is Prime Minister, Australia dumps $600 million bucks of tax payer cash on Expo 88, Home and Away hits our tellies for the first time, Triple J launch the Hottest 100, Nintendo release the Game Boy, free University education is no longer an option, and over in Wellington NZ, the Southernmost capital city in the world, Jon Toogood and Tom Larkin are busily creating a heavy rock band…. A monstrous band that would end up becoming one of New Zealand’s most loved, respected and successful exports… Kia ora Shihad!

Fast forward to 2020… Jon, Tom, lead guitarist Phil Knight (who they found through a music shop notice board ad in 1989) and bass player Karl Kippenberger, who joined the band in 1993, (from being a fan) have released nine studio albums (five of which went to #1 in NZ). They survived a name change propelled by Jihad becoming a staple negative reference in the global vernacular thanks to 9/11 (Shihad became Pacifier, and returned to Shihad), personal triumphs and tragedies, travelled all over the world with endless tours, selling out headline shows and sharing stages at major local and international festivals, and touring with musical heroes like Motorhead, Metallica, Faith No More and AC/DC to name a few! In 2010 they were inducted into the New Zealand Music’s Hall Of Fame. And just like Neil Finn, Russell Crowe and every other successful person or idea to come out of NZ… Australia quickly adopted them as our own, showering them with ARIA nominations, adoration and ownership of their global success.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shihad

Releases

FVEY
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Ignite
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Beautiful Machine
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Love Is The New Hate
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Alive
Year: 2005
Type: EP
The General Electric
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Blue Light Disco
Year: 1998
Type: EP
B-Sides
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Shihad
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Killjoy
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Churn
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Devolve
Year: 1991
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem