8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shihad - Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019

04 Dec 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour. It holds up to 400 people and was built way back in 1958. Tonight is going to be special.

The tiny room is beginning to fill with mainly expat Kiwi’s and Aussies plus one very enthusiastic Shihad fan from Bath. The atmosphere is subdued but expectant and there is no support act for tonight’s gig so people are chatting while Tom and Phil mingle and help out on the merch stand. 

The fact that Shihad have added dates in tiny venues like this around the UK when they could have just played it safe with one gig in London is testament to the drive that has seen them remain a driving force in rock music for over 30 years. 

That gig in London happened last night at the Shepherds Bush Empire where the band played what Jon described as his “favourite ever Shihad gig”, in front of thousands. 

Tonight there are around 100 people.

This is going to be special. 

The band enter the tiny stage all smiles and launch straight into Think You’re So Free. The sound is amazing. This is the 30th Anniversary tour and it has the same set format I saw back at The Auckland Town Hall a few months ago. Starting with songs from the latest album FVEY, they work backwards right through to Churn.

Karl is wearing a permanent grin through his impressive beard, while Phil effortlessly blasts out those face melting riffs. Jon is Jon, simply one of the best frontmen in the world warming up the crowd with between song banter while Tom is the powerhouse driving the rhythm that already has people bouncing. 

Comfort Me results in the first main singalong of the evening and in a room this small with a crowd this size it’s impressive that their voices can be heard. 

After a beautiful version of The Brightest Star there is a big shift in gear as My Mind's Sedate sees the crowd collectively lose its shit. One of the best songs ever written it is a masterclass in what a rock song should be. The whole place is moving, and as always Shihad give everything 100%. 

The set is classic Shihad, no frills, no fills; just great rock music with plenty of attitude and fun. Jon even heads up to join a few people in the tiny balcony level looking down on the stage. My grin by now is as big as Karl’s, and every single person is dancing and smiling. 

We all know Shihad can rock an arena but seeing them tonight playing the equivalent of a local pub is special. I moved back to the UK 6 weeks ago after living in NZ for 17 years. That move back in 2003 was where I first experienced Shihad and was instantly hooked. Tonight I am homesick, tonight was emotional.

Shihad are special. They have long been New Zealand’s best kept secret, but here in this tiny venue and over the past week they have shown the UK how rock music should be played.

As the encore finishes with the pummelling Cheap As I have goosebumps and not from the icy cold British winter air.

Shihad, you were amazing as always please don’t wait another 10 years to get back over to these shores.

 

About Shihad

Shihad has been blasting our airwaves with incredible songs since 1998, and ever since those early days in Wellington they have proven time and time again that they are one of the best and most loved Rock bands to ever come out of New Zealand.

Their boundary-pushing debut album Churn was released in 1993, produced by the outstanding Jaz Coleman and recorded in the legendary York Street Studios in Parnell. Churn was the first album to be recorded at the iconic studios, and so it was fitting that Shihad's 2014 album FVEY was also recorded there, again with Jaz at the helm.

Fast forward to 2018 and Shihad have released nine studio albums (five of which went to #1 in NZ), 3 EPs and countless memorable singles, survived a name change, personal triumphs and tragedies, travelled allover the world with endless tours, sold out headline shows and shared stages at major local and international festivals and toured with musical heroes such as Motorhead, Metallica, Faith No More and AC/DC.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shihad

Releases

FVEY
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Ignite
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Beautiful Machine
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Love Is The New Hate
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Alive
Year: 2005
Type: EP
The General Electric
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Blue Light Disco
Year: 1998
Type: EP
B-Sides
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Shihad
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Killjoy
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Churn
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Devolve
Year: 1991
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem