30 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine

14 Nov 2019 // A review by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.net.nz is that you get to discover the new local talent that you may have never stumbled across otherwise, and Wellington indie band Anxiety Club has got the goods.

The first song on this mini EP is Public Service, a hilarious upbeat tune about a guy stuck in public service for 29 years and all that entails. The track kicks off with drums and bass before the chiming guitars cascade in, equipped with Moog keyboard and luscious BV’s making Public Service a catchy slice of Kiwi indie pop.

The title track Francine is served up next and it's another great upbeat indie rocker. I really dig the chorus in this one, they definitely have carved out a sound of their own with the addition of the Moog keyboard adding a little bit of soul into the mix.

The final track is The Sun Is Out and it takes everything down a notch with an acoustic and keyboard intro, a gentle lullaby for the first half that then it drops into a heavy chorus with a cool melodic solo and outro.

These are three impressive tracks from a band that have a great ear for melody and song structure, they’re definitely a band to keep an eye out for and I’m “anxious” to hear a full album in the future, and hopefully on vinyl.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Anxiety Club

Wellington band Anxiety Club have been performing their alt-country/indie-influenced “feel-good anthems of heartache and despair” around Aotearoa since 2016. Over that time they have played stages big and small, released a series of singles and EPs to much acclaim, made numerous appearances on radio, and won fans wherever they were heard.

The band originally bonded over a common love for alt-country, adding their own unique twist of indie alt-pop pop and grunge, with electronic influences. They made their mark with the singles Be Still and I Don’t Want Anyone (But You), alongside a series of triumphant shows, including their sold-out debut at The Wine Cellar in Auckland. They’ve also chalked up acclaimed performances at numerous New Zealand festivals and events, from Coastella and New Plymouth’s TSB Festival of Lights, to playing at Gardens Magic in Wellington.

In October 2018 Anxiety Club continued their winning streak with the release of their first studio-recorded EP Black Heart.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Anxiety Club

Releases

Francine
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Black Heart
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Live EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by Jason Peters
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019
27 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Single Review: Personify
17 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
L.A.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem